It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Deleting a work item

Aaron Chorpenning (371015) | asked Jan 27 '14, 10:56 a.m.
retagged Jan 30 '14, 3:03 p.m. by Dejan Custic (2855)

I have a project where I have enabled the Delete work item permission for Scrum Master and Team Members. However, when the team members view a work item, there is not a delete option for them. As a site admin, I have the option. The team members are in the JazzUsers AD directory.

What am I missing?

2 answers

permanent link
Brian DiCola (29311415) | answered Jan 27 '14, 11:21 a.m.
Hi Aaron,

Try this reference.

https://jazz.net/forum/questions/84162/deleting-work-items-permission

Comments
Aaron Chorpenning commented Jan 27 '14, 12:15 p.m. | edited Jan 27 '14, 6:05 p.m.

Thanks for pointing me in a direction towards an answer. It looks like from what I can tell...

1. The user has to be a member of JazzAdmins

2. The user has to be assigned a role, which has been given permission to "Delete Work Item".

For some reason, I don't know why #2 isn't the only option to be satisfied. It just seems strange why JazzAdmins needs to be involved...

Millard Ellingsworth commented Jan 27 '14, 6:09 p.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

Hi, Aaron.

Because of the linked nature of the data, it can be a messy thing to delete (as opposed to archive) most items. A work item can have a variety of relationships with other work items, can be linked to requirements or test cases in other CLM applications, etc. For the longest time, this option wasn't even available. I think the point is that a JazzAdmin will be careful to make sure that the work item can be safely deleted.

Aaron Chorpenning commented Jan 30 '14, 4:11 p.m.

Thanks for your feedback. I see the importance of the linked nature of these things. However, a basic deletion is sometimes necessary...Opps...I added a defect to the wrong project...

At least we have the ability to set this on a project admin level, as well as the jazz admin level.