It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Lost the ability to sync fields in work items - need it back

Nigel Hopper (1032625) | asked Feb 03 '12, 12:17 p.m.
Hi

I'm an RTC administrator and get asked to make changes to work items.

If I add a field to a work item, when I'm ready for all work items to pick it up, I run a query to list all the work items.

I then select them all and right click on the work item icon and I am able to select "Synchronize Attributes" and it will run through all the work items and pick up the changes.

Some time in the last ??? months, Synchronize Attributes no longer appears for me to select. I seem to have all the correct permissions as one of my colleagues who can do this.

Suggestions as to a solution gratefully received

6 answers

permanent link
Ralph Schoon (63.4k33646) | answered Feb 07 '12, 5:50 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
Hi Nigel,

that sounds odd, I think the context menu does not look at the permission, so the action should show up. The action only shows up on the icon of the type displayed in the query. Can you recheck you display the type and the action does not come up? You could try and install a new client in parallel and try if it works there, which would point to an issue with the client install.

permanent link
Nigel Hopper (1032625) | answered Feb 07 '12, 6:13 a.m.
Hi Ralph

Since I originally wrote this I have a little more information. It must be server specific and how my ID is set up on there.

Only one of the servers does "Synchronise Attributes" not appear in this way. For all of the other RTC projects on all the other servers, I have no problem, so it is not the client.

It is only for the RTC projects on the server I mainly work with, does this ability seem to have been lost.

So it is not project related and not client related. So that also rules out roles and permissions as that is project level.