How to get connected with RWS again once it's disconnected from the pending changes view
Prerequisites: Loaded RWS
Test Scenario:
- Right click on RWS from the Pending changes view and click on unload --> use the option "disconnect the local content from the RWS" and click on OK
Resultant behavior:
- RWS will be disabled from the pending changes view
- Go to Team-Artifacts view --> My Repository Workspaces = RWS will be shown as unload, all the components will also shown as unloaded.
Note: Still local content is not deleted.
So now the expectation is, How to get the RWS connected again with local content OR in other words how to get the RWS loaded again under "My Repository Workspaces" so that I can use the same RWS again. Currently I am not able to use it.
Please guide me
Thank you
Accepted answer
- If you have a use case to be supported, then ask for the use case to be supported, and not why the way you try to support the use case does not work.
- Disconnect from SCM is to disconnect from SCM and remove all the information SCM would need to reconnect. It is basically not a solution for your use case.
- The Visual Studio client has a feature to switch sandboxes in a way that would support your use case.
- The Eclipse client does not have such a feature unfortunately, that I know about. Please create an enhancement request. I would like such a feature as well.
- In the Eclipse and the Visual Studio client, you could share the disconnected information again with the repository workspace or stream
- If you had multiple components you would have to manually reshare all the root folder in all the components and know which belongs to which. This is not what you want.
- Eclipse allows to use multiple workspaces and have multiple Eclipse open. Each workspace is its own sandbox. That is what I use. The -showLocation flag allows to show the workspace you use in the top border of the window.
Comments
One other answer
Your options
- Use unload and select to delete local content in the future
- Use unload and keep the local content or use disconnect in this case
- Use Load for the RWS and overwrite the local content
- Manually delete the local content and load the RWS again.