Possible solution to moving all project data to a new instance
We have an instance of RTC with several major products being developed on it. This causes significant difficulty in finding acceptable maintenance windows, even on the weekend as each product has a different release cycle. To separate out major products, I would like feedback on whether it would work to copy the entire repository to a new server, rename it, and then delete all work items, data in the components, and archive the other projects so you are left with just the project of the team that is moving off the original server.
2 answers
Hi Vince,
I think that should be OK. However I don't believe this is one of the supported scenarios for server rename.(Pilot to Production or Production to Test) In addition deleting data in the repository is a lot of manual work, so if the repository is not too big you can probably just keep the extra data and just hide them so that users don't see it?
For removing scm data from repository
https://jazz.net/library/article/1006
There is a RFE for component deletion, see more information below.
https://jazz.net/jazz/web/projects/Rational%20Team%20Concert#action=com.ibm.team.workitem.viewWorkItem&id=163568
For Work item deletion:
https://www-01.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSYMRC_6.0.0/com.ibm.team.workitem.doc/topics/t_deleting_work_items_web.html
I think that should be OK. However I don't believe this is one of the supported scenarios for server rename.(Pilot to Production or Production to Test) In addition deleting data in the repository is a lot of manual work, so if the repository is not too big you can probably just keep the extra data and just hide them so that users don't see it?
For removing scm data from repository
https://jazz.net/library/article/1006
There is a RFE for component deletion, see more information below.
https://jazz.net/jazz/web/projects/Rational%20Team%20Concert#action=com.ibm.team.workitem.viewWorkItem&id=163568
For Work item deletion:
https://www-01.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSYMRC_6.0.0/com.ibm.team.workitem.doc/topics/t_deleting_work_items_web.html
This approach to splitting a repository is not officially supported. In particular, when you do a server rename, all other repositories that have a reference to the renamed repository effectively have their references redirected to the new location of the repository. That is fine for the artifacts that are intended to live in the renamed repository, but for references to the artifacts that are intended to live on in the original repository, those references will also be redirected to the renamed repository, where they either will be not found (if they have been deleted), or an old/archived copy in the renamed repository will be found.
If you do not have any external references to artifacts in the repository you are splitting, then this approach might work, but since it is not a supported mechanism, it has not been tested at all by the product team (perhaps someone else knows about known issues, beyond the one I mention above).
If you do not have any external references to artifacts in the repository you are splitting, then this approach might work, but since it is not a supported mechanism, it has not been tested at all by the product team (perhaps someone else knows about known issues, beyond the one I mention above).