It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

RTC server and client upgradation from 3.0.0 to 4.0.0

Rameshbabu Ananthrapu (812) | asked Jul 31 '14, 12:23 p.m.
 Hi,
I am very new to RTC.
I am trying to migrate RTC3.0.0 to RTC4.0.0.

We have been given a test server(linux) for RTC migration. I have installed RTC3.0.0 in my test server and tried to create tables using repotool command line. The tables are successfully created in oracle DB. Now I am trying to export data from my existing db and import that data into my test db. Here I am getting data conflict issues. During tables creation in my test server some tables created with some data so i am gatting data conflict issues while importing data.

We are using CCM and JTS applications. We are using RTC for repository purpose not using for building purpose.

Could you please help me here to go further if i am going in proper way. If not please suggest me the procedure for efficient migration.

Thanks in advance.

Migration details:

Current version of RTC: 3.0.0
Upgrading to 4.0.0
Database using: oracle
Application server: Tomcat
Environment: Linux

Accepted answer

permanent link
Lily Wang (4.9k714) | answered Jul 31 '14, 8:20 p.m.
 Hi Rameshbabu,
For the testing environment, are you going to export the production data and import to the testing environment?
Then you should not use "repotools -addTables" to create tables in the testing database. The "repotools -import" will create the tables and import data.
You can following the steps in http://pic.dhe.ibm.com/infocenter/clmhelp/v3r0m1/topic/com.ibm.jazz.install.doc/topics/t_migrate_derby_oracle.html which also works for Oracle to Oracle migration.
One more thing you need to be careful is as RTC 3.0.3 doesn't support server rename, you should isolate the network between testing environment and production environment, and also ensure RTC clients can not access both servers.
Please do backup for the production database before you take the action.