It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

RTC and CQ Integration

steve quin (644) | asked Aug 22 '12, 5:54 a.m.
Hi
Sorry I am new to RTC and agile. My question is regarding RTC and CQ integration.

What we are looking to do is to drive our projects through RTC. Hence we would like to employ CQ as the defect engine. My question is based on the integration that is supported with this integration.

If I add the defect through RTC (i.e, within the Story, I go to Links and select Affected by defect then i get choice Link or create a defect in CQ) Does this mean that when the defect closes, the linked defect item I created will have a line through this as per closing of storys etc..?

Thanks

4 answers

permanent link
Ralph Schoon (63.1k33645) | answered Aug 22 '12, 7:32 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
Steve,

basically RTC has its own defect engine that is tightly integrated with all other parts. You can use the following CQ integrations:

1. The CQ bridge. This allows you to link CQ elements to RTC work items and navigate back and forth. There are also views to show traced elements.
2. The CQ Synchronizer that copies data back and forth. CQ elements would have copies as RTC elements. This is not the best way to be used. There are obviously issues with conflicting changes on different sides.

permanent link
steve quin (644) | answered Aug 22 '12, 10:13 a.m.
Hi Ralph
Thanks for the reply.
Since from a project perspective we have to employ CQ maybe the best way is to create the report in CQ and add this as a link via Related Artifacts as the quickest method of status.

Thanks

permanent link
Ralph Schoon (63.1k33645) | answered Aug 22 '12, 10:30 a.m.