It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Lost history when import source code from CC to RTC


Zica Valsan (10124645) | asked Mar 31 '11, 5:36 a.m.
Hello,

I have the following configuration in place: RTC server 2.0.0.2 iFix 5, Win HP.
I tried to import a UCM stream from CC to RTC.
I checked the box: Import with history from ClearCase
The import ended successfully: "Import success on date..".
I checked the files, they are consistent across CC/RTC.
One work item was created during import:
- In the summary view:WARNING: Overwriting with: caslibs/boost/1_33_1 /include/boost.h
-in the Link view, one change set with the name of the component: caslibs

In Pending Changes, I selected the merge workspace, accept changes
In merge workspace, right click, select the component, Show History. Here I got 2 inputs:

1. Comment: 9021:WARNING: Overwriting with: caslibs/boost/1_33_1/include/boost.h , Date Created: 10:30 (March)
2. Comment: Initial for caslibs, Date Created, Feb 15,2011

Nothing like:Synchronize Task showed up during/after import as described on http://jazz.net/library/article/50

-I click on the first one and the Change Explorer view is open. I can see the files/components imported. Select one file, rigkt click/Show History. It opens the Compare (File doesn'T exists-boost.h) with 2 windows Text Compare having on the left side the content of the selected file marked in blue and the name of the file: boost.h (after)(read-only). The right side is empty, the tile :Files doesn't exist (before) (read-only)

-Click on the second history and on Change Explorer an icon like the one get onrepository file and small darkblue window close to it. No name, no content. Sorry, I couldn't explain it better.

I don't know where the problem is. I found out something on forum but is not fully relevant to my settings.
Does anyone have an idea what went wrong, what I need to do and i haven't done it?
Thank you,
Zica

10 answers



permanent link
Geoffrey Clemm (30.0k23035) | answered Mar 31 '11, 2:19 p.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
When you import with history, what should get imported is the baselines
in the stream you are importing from. You should get one synchronize
task for each baseline (in RTC-3.0, you will also get a baseline in RTC
for each imported baseline).

So the first question is: how many baselines exist in the CC stream you
imported from? The behavior you are seeing would seem to indicate that
there are no baselines on that CC stream.

Cheers,
Geoff

On 3/31/2011 5:38 AM, zvalsan wrote:
Hello,

I have the following configuration in place: RTC server 2.0.0.2 iFix
5, Win HP.
I tried to import a UCM stream from CC to RTC.
I checked the box: Import with history from ClearCase
The import ended successfully: "Import success on date..".
I checked the files, they are consistent across CC/RTC.
One work item was created during import:
- In the summary view:WARNING: Overwriting with:
caslibs/boost/1_33_1 /include/boost.h
-in the Link view, one change set with the name of the
component: caslibs

In Pending Changes, I selected the merge workspace, accept changes
In merge workspace, right click, select the component, Show History.
Here I got 2 inputs:

1. Comment: 9021:WARNING: Overwriting with:
caslibs/boost/1_33_1/include/boost.h , Date Created: 10:30 (March)
2. Comment: Initial for caslibs, Date Created, Feb 15,2011

Nothing like:Synchronize Task showed up during/after import as
described on http://jazz.net/library/article/50

-I click on the first one and the Change Explorer view is open. I can
see the files/components imported. Select one file, rigkt click/Show
History. It opens the Compare (File doesn'T exists-boost.h) with 2
windows Text Compare having on the left side the content of the
selected file marked in blue and the name of the file: boost.h
(after)(read-only). The right side is empty, the tile :Files doesn't
exist (before) (read-only)

-Click on the second history and on Change Explorer an icon like the
one get onrepository file and small darkblue window close to it. No
name, no content. Sorry, I couldn't explain it better.

I don't know where the problem is. I found out something on forum but
is not fully relevant to my settings.
Does anyone have an idea what went wrong, what I need to do and i
haven't done it?
Thank you,
Zica

permanent link
Manoj Panda (39336358) | answered Apr 01 '11, 2:52 a.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
Imagine a scenario like each of our Test Engr/Analyst attach a file while logging a Defect/task. yes RTC already has this capability to attach a file/screenshot. but all of my attachment size goes in to the RTC Database repository and the DB increases day by day. performance may be issue after sometime.

When i explore i also found that i can just indicate the link of the file instead of attaching the file, and the file can be put in to some share location. but the difficulty in today's world everybody need the automation. No developer wants to go more than 1 step while attaching a file only.
step-1, keep the file in share location
Step-2: copy the URL link(UNC Path-
step-3: paste in the RTC (click on links tab in a defect and add related artifacts)
tooooooo much thats what the developers feel.

Solution: may be what I can think about, why not RTC gives the facility to attach the file by keeping in some other share folder automatically and create the link(URL).

This way my DB will not grow and all attached files will be in separate folder which i also needs to be take care while taking the regular backup of DB & RTC.

I would like to know is there any other tools provide the similar functionality if not RTC.

permanent link
Zica Valsan (10124645) | answered Apr 01 '11, 7:26 a.m.
Hi Geoff,

thank you for your replay.

I have checked the components (11 in total) and each has a different baseline.

It might be something related the view/stream was created.
Options I used when creating the dynamic view although I believe they are irrelevant for this issue:
Interop test mode:insert_cr
Create sharable derived objects -No

As for the stream, I don't know what to check :-(.

permanent link
Zica Valsan (10124645) | answered Apr 01 '11, 7:27 a.m.
Hi Manoj,

I think you wanted to post the message to another topic : May be Great Idea to have this feature.

Cheers,
Zica

permanent link
Geoffrey Clemm (30.0k23035) | answered Apr 02 '11, 8:41 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
You are correct that the text mode and sharable-derived-objects would
not be relevant to this problem.

Your best approach would be to open a ticket with Rational Support, and
then they can work directly with you to see what is causing this. In
particular, they will ask you for the content of the log files that are
generated during the sync run (see the sync results page). You might
want to look at those as well, to see if you see anything strange there.

One thing that might give you some more info is to make some changes on
the ClearCase stream you are synching with, and then create a new
baseline there. And then request another sync, and then check the log
files of that new sync when it completes.

Cheers,
Geoff

On 4/1/2011 7:38 AM, zvalsan wrote:
Hi Geoff,

thank you for your replay.

I have checked the components (11 in total) and each has a different
baseline.

It might be something related the view/stream was created.
Options I used when creating the dynamic view although I believe they
are irrelevant for this issue:
Interop test mode:insert_cr
Create sharable derived objects -No

As for the stream, I don't know what to check :-(.

permanent link
Zica Valsan (10124645) | answered Apr 05 '11, 4:33 a.m.
Thank you Geoff for the input!
I'm going to try the approach you suggested by changing the stream content. Meanwhile I have opened a PMR and wait to get in contact with the support team.

Regards,
Zica

permanent link
Zica Valsan (10124645) | answered Apr 19 '11, 6:17 p.m.
Hello Geoff,

I checked again the stream and indeed, it has no history in it.
Therefore I have created some history by checking out a file, check in and create a baseline and repeat the story one more time.
I start the synchronization and I got the following errors:

javax.wvcm.WvcmException: Failure while trying to execute crmregister command:

crmregister add -database SAMPL -connection sample_schema_repo -username admin -password *****

crmregister: Error: Unable to locate database SAMPL in any registered ClearQuest connections.
crmregister: Error: Unable to locate the ClearQuest database SAMPL in the known ClearQuest connections.
Check value of the following ClearCase Provider Property: CLEARQUEST_USERDB_NAME


Therefore, I manualy changed (as I don't know where and how else) into the ClearCase Property Stream the following:
CLEARQUEST_LOGIN_NAME
CLEARQUEST_USERDB_NAME
CLEARQUEST_DBSET_NAME


I restarted the synchronization, and got the following error:
The system cannot find the ClearQuest password file: C:/Documents and
Settings/zvalsan/ClearCaseConnecto/_lbYZ8GpnEeCY9feTpAz1ZA.
synchronizer/imadm.cq_password
ClearQuest password must be set as -password=<password> in C:\Documents and Settings\zvalsan\ClearCaseConnector\_lbYZ8GpnEeCY9feTpAz1ZA.
synchronizer/imadm.cq_password file.
Build failed. Exit value was 25.


Again, I have manually edited the CQ password file and saved into the
above mentioned path, run again the Synchronization and the process
ended successfully.
There were 2 Tasks created, one for each Baselines, i can see the
modifications I did into the file which means the history got imported
BUT,
when I open the tasks and expect to see there in the Description the
name of the Baselines, the field is empty.

When checking in History for the baseline imported I can't see the two I created. (I accepted the changes)

Not sure what I did wrong or where I lost the baselines this time ...

Thank you

permanent link
Geoffrey Clemm (30.0k23035) | answered Apr 19 '11, 10:14 p.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
Note that whenever you have a question about a particular topic for the
CC Synchronizer, always try the RTC on-line help system. It doesn't
always have the answers you need, but it frequently/usually does. And
if it doesn't, please file a work item, so our doc team knows that there
is an area that needs to be enhanced.

In this case, just put CLEARQUEST_USERDB_NAME into the search box of the
RTC on-line help, and it will give you precise directions about how to
proceed. I'd also highly recommend that you read over the CC
Synchronizer on-line help at least once, so you are familiar with the
capabilities provided by the CC Synchronizer.

WRT finding the baselines in RTC, in RTC-2.0, the baselines were
imported in the form of change sets, and you had to manually create the
RTC baselines from those change sets, if you wanted RTC baselines in
addition to the change sets (create one baseline for each change set).

In RTC-3.0, those baselines are created for you automatically.

Cheers,
Geoff


On 4/19/2011 6:23 PM, zvalsan wrote:
Hello Geoff,

I checked again the stream and indeed, it has no history in it.
Therefore I have created some history by checking out a file, check
in and create a baseline and repeat the story one more time.
I start the synchronization and I got the following errors:

javax.wvcm.WvcmException: Failure while trying to execute crmregister
command:

crmregister add -database SAMPL -connection sample_schema_repo
-username admin -password *****

crmregister: Error: Unable to locate database SAMPL in any registered
ClearQuest connections.
crmregister: Error: Unable to locate the ClearQuest database SAMPL in
the known ClearQuest connections.
Check value of the following ClearCase Provider Property:
CLEARQUEST_USERDB_NAME


Therefore, I manualy changed (as I don't know where and how else) into
the ClearCase Property Stream the following:
CLEARQUEST_LOGIN_NAME
CLEARQUEST_USERDB_NAME
CLEARQUEST_DBSET_NAME


I restarted the synchronization, and got the following error:
The system cannot find the ClearQuest password file: C:/Documents and

Settings/zvalsan/ClearCaseConnecto/_lbYZ8GpnEeCY9feTpAz1ZA.

synchronizer/imadm.cq_password

ClearQuest password must be set as -password=<password> in
C:\Documents and
Settings\zvalsan\ClearCaseConnector\_lbYZ8GpnEeCY9feTpAz1ZA.
synchronizer/imadm.cq_password file.

Build failed. Exit value was 25.





Again, I have manually edited the CQ password file and saved into the

above mentioned path, run again the Synchronization and the process

ended successfully.

There were 2 Tasks created, one for each Baselines, i can see the

modifications I did into the file which means the history got imported

BUT,

when I open the tasks and expect to see there in the Description the

name of the Baselines, the field is empty.

When checking in History for the baseline imported I can't see the two
I created. (I accepted the changes)

Not sure what I did wrong or where I lost the baselines this time ...

Thank you

permanent link
Zica Valsan (10124645) | answered Apr 26 '11, 6:18 a.m.
Hi Geoff,

thanks a lot for your answer, it helps me to understand where the issues are and how to solve them out.

WRT to documentation, I have to agreed I haven't read the part with "configuring the synchronization stream to support UCM projects that are enabled for Rational ClearQuest" as we mistakenly imported streams without history. Therefore, this topic was systematically skipped.
I also have to admit I'm not a CC expert and always got a stream created by the code importer requester and the CC admin.
Having this "perfect synchronization" is not difficult to get into the trouble when working on this task.

Thank you,
Zica

permanent link
Geoffrey Clemm (30.0k23035) | answered Apr 27 '11, 1:40 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
In general, when configuring or fixing synchronization problems reported
by the ClearCase Synchronizer, you really want to have reasonably
comprehensive knowledge of both ClearCase and RTC. Since it is often
hard to find someone that knows both, that usually means having a
ClearCase expert and an RTC expert team up for this.

Cheers,
Geoff

On 4/26/2011 6:23 AM, zvalsan wrote:
Hi Geoff,

thanks a lot for your answer, it helps me to understand where the
issues are and how to solve them out.

WRT to documentation, I have to agreed I haven't read the part with
"configuring the synchronization stream to support UCM projects
that are enabled for Rational ClearQuest" as we mistakenly
imported streams without history. Therefore, this topic was
systematically skipped.
I also have to admit I'm not a CC expert and always got a stream
created by the code importer requester and the CC admin.
Having this "perfect synchronization" is not difficult to
get into the trouble when working on this task.

Thank you,
Zica

Your answer


Register or to post your answer.