It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Your actual experience with Component in DNG 6.0.3?

Stephen Woo (96210) | asked Apr 05 '17, 10:37 a.m.

I hate to trouble you all as I am just learning about 6.0.3. My current version is 6.0.2. I have been reading and exploring Component in DNG 6.0.3. I believe I understand some of the benefits and also potential pitfalls. I know what I know. I know what I don't know. I don't know what I don't know--are there any pitfalls that you can help me avoid? For example, can I really clone artifacts and their links across components? Does JRS really work with components? Any work-around that will allow a collection or a module consists of artifacts from different components? Is there a work-around to query items across components in the web UI? 

3 answers

permanent link
Adrian Haw (2741242) | answered Apr 05 '17, 1:36 p.m.

We just upgraded a test server from 6.0.2 to 6.0.3 today and will be conducting UAT over the coming weeks - whatever we find in terms of bugs/features, gotchas, etc I can post here.

The first thing we found is that linking artifacts in different project streams of a global config using user-defined link types and link constraints seems to work in 6.0.3 (certainly didn't behave properly in 6.0.2).

permanent link
Jean-François CHAPELLE (6414) | answered Jul 23 '19, 5:03 a.m.

We are currently in DNG 6.0.5.

Our experience with components is mixed :

- good for using with "Global Configuration", or if you need to have "custom" types, links in a project.