It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

CLM 5.0.2 with Websphere and Edirectory switching to Active Directory

Steve Mills (5111) | asked Aug 18 '16, 9:20 a.m.
edited Aug 18 '16, 9:21 a.m.
Our company is discontinuing the use of eDirectory so all application must migrate to AD.

Since both WAS and CLM have LDAP connection information and user group / role definitions, I am trying to figure out the sequence of how changes can be made and if I run the risk of locking out my environment if they are not done 100% correctly the first time.

Do we change Websphere to AD including the security role to user / group mapping first? After the JVM restart, can I log in to CLM still if WAS has been "flipped to AD" but CLM still has the eDirectory configurations?   If so, then I am fine and I can "fix" JTS and RTC as long as it still thinks I'm an admin.

Or do I try to change the LDAP settings in CLM first and then do the websphere changes and hope that after the JVM restart, everything still works with the new settings?

Someone must have done this.  Interested in the tricks to minimize the pain.

Thanks!

Accepted answer

permanent link
Lily Wang (4.9k714) | answered Aug 18 '16, 9:11 p.m.
To switch to another LDAP server, first you need to keep the Jazz user Id same as the previous. 
The procedure will be:
1. On AD, create the LDAP users which have the same user id and Jazz groups as the old LDAP server.
2. Change the LDAP configuration to point to the new AD server in WAS
3. Redo the group mapping for all applications in WAS
4. Login jts/admin and modify the LDAP configuration. Or you can modify the configuration by manually update conf/jts/teamserver.properties.

Hope the above is helpful.
Ralph Schoon selected this answer as the correct answer

One other answer

permanent link
Donald Nong (14.5k414) | answered Aug 22 '16, 3:13 a.m.