Clarify Dashboard permissions
One answer
IMHO, those permissions are confusing and the documentation is not very helpful. I raised a similar question to IBM support:
Q: Is it possible to prevent users from deleting their personal dashboards?
A: The Default dashboard is not in a project area context, so deleting it cannot be prevented.
Other personal dashboards are owned by the area that is chosen when the dashboard is created.
I haven't used this functionality in months, so I may be wrong, but
my interpretation of Support's response is as follows:
Project/Team Dashboards are not to be confused with Personal dashboards. Note that Personal Dashboards can start from the Standard template or from a Project Area personal dashboard template. See below screenshots:
If CCM is selected, a Project Area must be selected:
The selection of Project Area will drive:
- The content of the initial dashboard, as stated in the dashboard template:
- the permissions of the personal dashboard (create/delete).
I personally don't see the point in providing the capability to restrict personal dashboards from a Project Area template if any user can create as many personal dashboards as he wants with cross-project information, and we can't restrict that.
It wouldn't be a bad idea to raise an enhancement request or a documentation enhancement request.
@htaly, hope not to have confused you even more ;-)