It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

requirement project baselines

Zica Valsan (10124745) | asked Jan 31 '13, 4:50 p.m.
edited Aug 21 '14, 12:48 p.m. by Douglas Bush (28125)
Hi,

I'm using the JKE Banking (RM) , ver 4.0.1 to to get used to the new application. So, I'm a beginner in this area. I have reached a point where I wanted to create a  requirement project baseline. The problem I have is that after opening the Artifact tab and getting all features in a certain folder, the Baseline Icon is gray out.
Do I need to enable anything else in advance?
There is also a statement in th ehelp which puzzle me: "You can create baselines at any date in the past, not just at the current time"    What would be the reason and how I will create such a baseline when the changes are already done?

Thank you,
Zica

Comments
Robin Bater commented Feb 01 '13, 5:55 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER

A Baseline is timestamp that is used to access the repository. If you create a baseline in the past it will open that artifact as it was prior to the baseline timestamp, and will not show any changes after the baseline.

When a new version of an artifact is created it does not overwrite the previous version. This allows the artifact history to see all previous version and all the related content, links, and attributes.

5 answers

permanent link
Bas Bekker (1.4k4) | answered Jan 31 '13, 5:03 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
Did you make yourself a Project Baseline Administrator?
Check under Administration -> Manage This Project Area -> Members -> Process Roles for your user

permanent link
Robin Bater (3.4k47) | answered Jan 31 '13, 7:29 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
As Bas says there are permissions needed which are not provided to Author or Administrator roles.

This help topic has a note about this:

https://jazz.net/help-dev/clm/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.rational.rrm.help.doc%2Ftopics%2Fc_snapshots.html