Plan mode changes lost when promoting the plan mode
I'm trying to figure out how to roll out changes to a plan mode to several projects, and I've encountered something that seems like an error. I've found out the following about plan modes so far:
1. If you make a change to an existing plan mode (like "work breakdown") it will become a "local" plan mode. No changes will be done to you process configuration / xml source. If you go to "Plan modes" in your process configuration editor, you plan mode will have a small "person icon" next to it, denoting a local plan mode only visible within this project instance.
2. You can then choose to "promote" your new / modified plan mode by pressing "promote" in the plan mode list. Your plan mode will then get an entry in the process xml (with a unique ID), if it did not exists before. This means that if you paste this process xml into another project, this project will also have this mode. Note that you need to link the plan mode to a plan type in the "plan types" section of the process configuration.
All this seems to work fine. But the problem occur if you again edit an already promoted mode. Then, at first, when your change is local all plans in your project can use this changed mode without problem. If you then promote the mode, then all your changes disappear. I've even tried to un-link and then link the Product Backlog plan type to my plan mode, but nothing works.
Does anybody have an idea whats going on?
ps. RTC v.3.0.1 / Windows / MS SQL.
1. If you make a change to an existing plan mode (like "work breakdown") it will become a "local" plan mode. No changes will be done to you process configuration / xml source. If you go to "Plan modes" in your process configuration editor, you plan mode will have a small "person icon" next to it, denoting a local plan mode only visible within this project instance.
2. You can then choose to "promote" your new / modified plan mode by pressing "promote" in the plan mode list. Your plan mode will then get an entry in the process xml (with a unique ID), if it did not exists before. This means that if you paste this process xml into another project, this project will also have this mode. Note that you need to link the plan mode to a plan type in the "plan types" section of the process configuration.
All this seems to work fine. But the problem occur if you again edit an already promoted mode. Then, at first, when your change is local all plans in your project can use this changed mode without problem. If you then promote the mode, then all your changes disappear. I've even tried to un-link and then link the Product Backlog plan type to my plan mode, but nothing works.
Does anybody have an idea whats going on?
ps. RTC v.3.0.1 / Windows / MS SQL.
Comments
Morten Madsen
Dec 14 '12, 6:08 a.m.Morten Madsen
Dec 20 '12, 4:27 a.m.Geoffrey Clemm
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER Dec 20 '12, 12:56 p.m.Morten Madsen
Dec 27 '12, 10:28 a.m.