It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Does IBM/Rational has anything like Apache Maven?

Jirong Hu (1.5k9295258) | asked Apr 27 '12, 9:03 a.m.
Hi

This is my first time working with Maven. Despite its all kinds of drawbacks, it resolves the dependency management and binary storage. So for shops using all Rational tools, what's our solution?

For dependency, I used to design the component structures in ClearCase UCM according to the application architecture component dependency. All 3rd party libraries are checked-in to CC. Internal application dependency is implemented by R/O component included in the stream, so it's source code level dependency. In application A's stream, there is application B's source code component plus all 3rd party library components, both R/O.

For the build result produced by BF, we have to store them in a file system and manage them manually.

I think IBM should enhance BF to manage dependency and binary as Maven does.

Thanks
Jirong

8 answers

permanent link
Ralph Schoon (63.4k33646) | answered Jul 05 '12, 12:05 p.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
It is also possible to use RTC with Maven. You should just follow this post: http://phkrief.wordpress.com/2010/09/24/when-maven-meets-rational-team-concert/ and make the Maven projects "flat". The dependency hierarchy is still there, but the projects are not nested anymore.

If you want to use tools to store the builds/binaries, you like, go ahead with it. I am not a fan of versioning binaries either.

In addition you could use Jenkins/Hudson if you like. There are ways to use them with RTC and the integrations are getting better too.

If you want to store and manage your builds, this might be an interesting approach too: https://jazz.net/library/article/807

permanent link
Spencer Murata (2.3k115971) | answered Apr 30 '12, 8:21 a.m.
FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER