It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Changing the author of a change set via the java API

Brian Green (5145) | asked Feb 27 '12, 8:05 p.m.
Is it possible to change the author of a change set via the java API? Also, is it possible to retrieve all change sets via the java API? I see that there's a MAX_QUERY_SIZE limit on the number of returned entries. How can I fetch more than that? Is there any kind of paging or something?

8 answers

permanent link
Brian Green (5145) | answered Feb 28 '12, 8:05 p.m.
Okay, I found the answer to one of my questions. To fetch all change sets, even exceeding the MAX_QUERY_SIZE, I found HistoryIterator. It doesn't look like I can import HistoryIterator and use it directly (though I'm a java noob), but reading the source for the class told me what to do.

It looks like it uses IWorkspaceConnection.changeHistory to fetch the change history for a component, and then repeatedly calls IChangeHistory.getHistoryDescriptors and IChangeHistoryDescriptor.previousHistory to fetch the entire history.

permanent link
Ralph Schoon (63.1k33646) | answered Feb 28 '12, 8:52 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
Is it possible to change the author of a change set via the java API? Also, is it possible to retrieve all change sets via the java API? I see that there's a MAX_QUERY_SIZE limit on the number of returned entries. How can I fetch more than that? Is there any kind of paging or something?

Brian, do you refer to work items? I think I have seen the MAX_QUERY_SIZE but that was for work items.

permanent link
Brian Green (5145) | answered Feb 28 '12, 3:41 p.m.
Brian, do you refer to work items? I think I have seen the MAX_QUERY_SIZE but that was for work items.

I was referring to the second parameter on IWorkspaceManager.findChangeSets, which is 'maxResults'. The documentation I have says: