It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Use Team Concert WithOut the Visual Studio Plugging

David Israel Valdez Rodriguez (21) | asked Nov 02 '11, 10:30 p.m.
Hello, My name is David Valdez, Im new in this topic about team concert, Ive configured all the thing that I need to deal with this application, Im using Visual Studio 2008, my concert is:

Can I use Visual Studio with Rational Team Concert without using the plugging for Visual Studio?

what I mean is: With the Visual Studio plugging I Can do Check-In, associate workItem, so and so, I wonder if I can do the same but withOut the Plugging..

By the way Im Domincan so Sorry if I wrotte something wrong, Im watting any Answer about this question

7 answers

permanent link
Ralph Schoon (63.1k33645) | answered Nov 03 '11, 4:13 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
Hi David,

without the VS Client installed I don't see a way to work with MS VS for SCM. Partially because I think MS VS makes assumptions about SCM systems. You could use the Eclipse Client to load the data to disc I guess but it would be very clumsy.

You can use the Web UI for many things but that would give you only very limited SCM capabilities.

Why do you hesitate to install the client?

permanent link
David Israel Valdez Rodriguez (21) | answered Nov 03 '11, 8:05 a.m.
Hi David,

without the VS Client installed I don't see a way to work with MS VS for SCM. Partially because I think MS VS makes assumptions about SCM systems. You could use the Eclipse Client to load the data to disc I guess but it would be very clumsy.

You can use the Web UI for many things but that would give you only very limited SCM capabilities.

hehe, is my boss who doesnt want to use the plugging he was looking a way to do what I just asked...

permanent link
David Israel Valdez Rodriguez (21) | answered Nov 03 '11, 8:11 a.m.
Hi David,

hehe, is my boss who doesnt want to use the plugging he was looking a way to do what I just asked...