It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Sizing with RTC 3.0

jean-claude vauthier (22634856) | asked Dec 02 '10, 9:48 a.m.
Hello,

I have read few articles around sizing. Very interesting.

I'm not very good with mathematics..... If I have a legacy of 50 GB (C/C++ or java) source code, how should I proceed to calculate the initial size of the repository ?

Then if I plan 100 developers working with RTC in the next coming year, how should I proceed to estimate the disk size required ?

Then if I plan to deploy RRC in one year (around 20 analyst) and RQM (20 testers), which kind of sizing should I plan to be comfortable for 3 years ?

I imagine that everything is stored into the database. Does the choice of the database Oracle/DB2/SQLServer has an huge impact on the sizing ?

In the paper of JM Lemieux Self Hosting by the numbers from June 2008 I don't understand why moving to a dual server setup and why 400GB is allocated to the application server node and just 200GB for the database server node.

Sorry, for these basics questions, I'm a novice in that domain. The constraints of the jazz architecture/technologies are not clear to me.

I'm interested by RTC 3.0 architecture and deployment consideration. I have also read this paper : http://jazz.net/library/article/551

Thank you

Jean-Claude

6 answers

permanent link
Radim Kolar (1121) | answered Dec 04 '10, 5:36 p.m.
I'm not very good with mathematics..... If I have a legacy of 50 GB (C/C++ or java) source code, how should I proceed to calculate the initial size of the repository ?

dont worry about it, any size will be good tablespace will be autoresized as required.

Then if I plan 100 developers working with RTC in the next coming year, how should I proceed to estimate the disk size required ?
disk size is not a big issue, today disk storage is cheap. I estimate that 250 GB striped across 4-6 disks should be enough.