It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

EWM/RTC Javascript attribute customization - does return value need to be the last line in script?

Becky McDermott (921140) | asked Dec 06 '23, 4:16 p.m.

I had a "Calculated Value" script to set the value of a Custom Attribute.  This script had worked for a long time but suddenly started being flakey under 7.0.2 (worked sometimes and sometimes it didn't).  

I started playing with it in our DEVELOPMENT environment (adding some console.log statements) and discovered that it wouldn't set the custom attribute at all.  I could tell from the browser's "Development Tools"/"Console" and my "console.log" that the script was being invoked/executed but the value would never be updated.

I decided to take out the try/catch (originally had a try/catch block).  When I took out the try catch such that the last line in the script was the return value, the script worked/updated the custom value.

Are try/catch blocks forbidden in calculated values?

Script before (wouldn't update value):
dojo.provide("com.example.storyPointsLastModified");
dojo.require("com.ibm.team.workitem.api.common.WorkItemAttributes");

(function() {
    dojo.declare("com.example.storyPointsLastModified", null, {

getValue: function(attribute, workItem, configuration) {

try {
// test
var lastModifiedDate = new Date();
var lastModifiedDateString = dojo.date.stamp.toISOString(lastModifiedDate, {milliseconds:true, zulu:true});
var txt = "The date story points were modified was:  " + lastModifiedDateString;
console.log(txt);
return lastModifiedDateString;
        }
        catch(err) {
            var txt; 
            txt="There was an error on this page.\n\n";
            txt+="Error description: " + err.message + "\n\n";
            txt+="Click OK to continue.\n\n";
            if (typeof window !== "undefined") {
               window.alert(txt); 
            }
        }
    }
    });
})();

Script after (successfully updates value):

(function() {