It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

DOORs Next Permissions Issue

Marcus Whitehead (133) | asked Oct 20 '22, 2:25 p.m.

I have a project with DOORs Next 7.0.2 where I am an admin of the project our organization works on.  However, after looking into the project I have found some flaws.  Any member of the Project can add new members, delete members, delete and modify teams, delete me as an admin and make themselves as an admin of the project and many more flaws with permissions I have ran into with Doors.  Is there a way I can have better control over members in my project to where they are limited at what they can do and where they can rome.  I know where the roles are and permissions are.  But once they are a member they have control in the entire project and these permissions and doesn't work as they should.   

Any suggestions?  

One answer

permanent link
Davyd Norris (2.2k217) | answered Oct 20 '22, 6:28 p.m.
edited Oct 24 '22, 6:29 p.m.
This sounds like a serious problem with the way your roles have been set up in terms of permissions.

When you make somebody a member of a project area, but do not assign them a role, they are automatically given the Everyone role. Go into the project area's Permissions section and check what the Everyone role can do - it should be almost nothing.

Then set up the other roles (typically Commenter, Author and Administrator) so that they reflect what you want the users in that role to be able to do. The default role permissions out of the box are actually pretty good here, so I suspect somebody has messed around with the Everyone role.

I actually always go in and remove all permissions from Everyone, and add all permissions to Administrator. I also tend to remove the Configuration Manager role that gets set up as I don't find it useful as it is

Also make sure that people are just added to the Members section of the project area and not the Administrators section - that's another common mistake I have seen.

Comments