It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Non-Source Code Basic Document Management with RTC source control

Glyn Costello (140151) | asked Aug 27 '21, 8:36 a.m.
edited Aug 27 '21, 9:01 a.m.

Hi all, 

How can I achieve some basic document management in RTC source control for things like PDFs, word docs, etc.?

I'm not a software engineer, but the component/stream/workspace arrangement is a bit confusing. 

Can different read-access controls within the same project area be applied like with work items and "restrict read access"?

Background info:
- We're making physical machines and use RM for requirements, RTC for planning and work items, QM for testing and GC for managing global configurations and product hierarchy. 
- We have strict read access controls so each "project" will have its own RM and QM project area. However, we just have the one RTC project area with work item read restrictions based on category and team area. 
- Consider that our "source" is PDF drawings for devices/components which have document numbers and revision numbers which I'd like to reflect in RTC somehow with custom properties?

So we might have a Project which consists of 3 major components in a GC hierarchy with 3 different teams working on them (e.g. a motor, a drive and a switchboard). Requirements managed in RM, work in RTC. How could I use the "Source Control" features in RTC to manage the drawings and map up to the 3 main components in RM/GC so that when we hit a major design review milestone, for example, or an "as built" for the first item, I can baseline the requirements and PDF drawing structure/revision state for the 3 components?

Accepted answer

permanent link
Geoffrey Clemm (30.1k33035) | answered Aug 27 '21, 11:52 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
edited Aug 27 '21, 2:04 p.m.
Yes, you can specify the read-access control of each file separately, similar to work items.