It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

When we remove an artifact from module in DNG, the links to RTC in the artifact in the context of that module also removed. But the links is not deleted from the RTC work-item. What might be the issue?


Chandrasekar Muthukrishnan (32113) | asked Feb 11, 10:11 p.m.

 We are using the ELM environment as below

DNG: 6.0.6.1
RTC 7.0.1
  1.  We are duplicating module by reusing the artifacts of the module. Also copying the links and tags.
  2. Now in the new duplicated module, we remove an artifact and add a a new artifact there.
  3.  If we assumed rightly, when we remove the artifact from the module, the links of that artifact to the RTC work-item should also be deleted.
  4. Here the issue is we see that link is not removed from the RTC work-item.
  5.  When we tried to manually delete the link from RTC work-item, it is throwing the warning that the RM resource is gone and backport cannot be done. If done forcibly then there will be some inconsistencies.
So here are we missing any configuration or is it a bug from the tool end.

One answer



permanent link
Geoffrey Clemm (29.8k23035) | answered Feb 12, 12:48 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
edited Feb 12, 12:49 a.m.

To my knowledge, although removing a DNG artifact will remove existing DNG links to that artifact, it will not remove links from artifacts in other applications (such as ETM/RQM or EWM/RTC).   So it is expected that the link is not removed from the RTC work item.   Then that warning (which is about "back links", not "backport") is just warning you that it cannot remove the "backlink" from the target artifact (which is to be expected since the target artifact no longer exists).   Just select the third option (delete the link, and don't worry about the backlink) and you will be fine ... there will be no inconsistencies.   This warning is just there in case you cannot see the target artifact because the server holding that artifact is not accessible ... in which case you would not want to delete the link because the backlink could not be removed. Note that you must be working in a project area without versioning turned on for this to happen, because when you turn on versioning, no backlinks are created in the target artifact, so you never get this kind of warning. 

Your answer


Register or to post your answer.