It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How do I create a jar file using the RTC build definition?

Bob Ferguson (891139) | asked Oct 12 '17, 9:41 a.m.

I am using RTC 6.0.3 and I am trying to create a Jar file using the RTC build definition.

I have searched the forum and found an answer the said to refer to  https://jazz.net/library/article/1286  for a discussion.  I have done this and still cannot find out how to create a Jar file using the RTC build definition.

Let me start by saying I am very new to ant and java.  I was able to use the RTC build definition to compile java source and create class files.  What I am trying to do now is create a jar file containing the class files produced.

I did view the build.xml file and noticed that it state that the file could not be modified, it stated that all modifications would have to be done in another file and imported into the build.xml file.  I don't know if this new file needs to contain the modifications only or an entire build definition.

If there is a way to use the RTC build definition to create a build xml file that would compile java source to produce class files and then take those class files and put them into a new jar file, I would love to know how.

Please when answering this question be very verbose (like I stated previously, I am new to ant and java).

Please let me know all the steps needed in the RTC build definition to create a build xml file that would compile java source to produce class files and then take those class files and put them into a new jar file.

If I have to modify the build.xml file please let me know what all the modifications would be and how to import into the build.xml file (if needed).

Please let me thank you in advance for all your help.

Bob

Accepted answer

permanent link
Alan Sampson (93749) | answered Oct 12 '17, 1:43 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER

By "noticed that it state that the file could not be modified" I assume you mean this comment: