It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

What is the best practice for frequently updating process templates?

Michael Dexter (9221114) | asked Jun 07 '17, 2:33 p.m.
Currently I have a Master project with 23 Children that get updated through process sharing so that piece is already in place but I come to the forum to seek others opinions.

I own the process template updates and have weighed pros and cons to different methods but still find myself without a perfect solution.  

Scenario A:         Make changes to a project, extract project to a template, create new project from template, test, repeat.
-          This is painful and leads to a ton of process templates that can never be archived due to having a project be created from it.

Scenario B:          Put my DEV project in DEV, my UAT project in UAT and PROD project (Master parent) in PROD with Children in PROD
-          This is painful because e.g. validator scripts will get appended a DB UUID that will be different from DEV to UAT to PROD
-          What is best way to find out the ID of the "going-to" environment and then updating all unique keys?

Here is an example of the unique DB UUID key I am speaking of:
Attribute Customization Validator Script -->, I do mean _r3CWEEtpEeeGtepOyoaYJA as in
<validatorid="com.ibm.team.workitem.valueproviders.VALIDATOR._r3CWEEtpEeeGtepOyoaYJA"name="Vali"providerId="com.ibm.team.workitem.shared.common.internal.valueProviders.ScriptAttributeValueProvider">                        <scriptclass="com.example.Validator"path="/workitem/scripts/common/vali.js"/>
</validator>

Scenario C:          Create all my projects on PROD but name them such like ( {name-d}, {name-u}, {name-p}, d for dev, u for uat and p for prod )
-          This is awesome because I can copy and paste the full XML from project to project, fetch the JS from attribute customizations and I am done