It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Load an old changeset with the discard command

Roberto Cometti (1312) | asked Mar 18 '15, 10:14 a.m.
Hi there,

I am new to RTC, coming from GIT/Mercurial.

I still do not fully understand the discard command. I have read the answers to this question, but they did not help me.

All I need to do is put my sandbox in a certain state, identified by a UUID (e.g. git checkout <changesetid>).

If I checkin a change and after that I want to rebuild the parent changeset and run some tests, if I use the discard command, the changeset I just checked in is nuked from my remote workspace.
I understand that if I delivered the change to the stream my change would still be there. But I do not want to deliver to the stream at that point.

Is there an alternative? Perhaps I am too used to the distributed approach of GIT/Mercurial?

Thanks,

Roberto.

Accepted answer

permanent link
Evan Hughes (2.4k1318) | answered Mar 18 '15, 11:41 a.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
All I need to do is put my sandbox in a certain state, identified by a UUID (e.g. git checkout <changesetid>). 
In RTC you do that by replacing the component in your repository workspace with a baseline. If you want to get your entire repository workspace into a specific state, you replace your entire repo workspace with a snapshot. If you don't have a baseline/snapshot representing the state you want, then you need to discard change sets back to that point. Practically, a state in time is usually represented as a build, which implicitly creates a snapshot when it runs, so you're probably safe. 

If I checkin a change and after that I want to rebuild the parent changeset and run some tests, if I use the discardcommand, the changeset I just checked in is nuked from my remote workspace.