It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

repository for random project documents

Mervyn Keene (171177) | asked Mar 19 '09, 7:07 p.m.
Let's say someone on my team contributes a nice class diagram in a picture format, or perhaps some UML or a Word document, etc. Is there a standard place where files of unspecified format can be dragged and dropped such that they'll be stored with the project, ideally with a stable URL so they can be linked to? Documents can easily be associated with work items but I don't see a way to associate them with higher-level concepts like components and project areas. On the other hand I'm a novice and might be missing something.

Thanks,
MK

5 answers

permanent link
Anthony Kesterton (7.5k9180136) | answered Mar 19 '09, 8:11 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
Let's say someone on my team contributes a nice class diagram in a picture format, or perhaps some UML or a Word document, etc. Is there a standard place where files of unspecified format can be dragged and dropped such that they'll be stored with the project, ideally with a stable URL so they can be linked to? Documents can easily be associated with work items but I don't see a way to associate them with higher-level concepts like components and project areas. On the other hand I'm a novice and might be missing something.

Thanks,
MK

Create an Eclipse project using the File->New->Project. Import the file into an Eclipse project, then add the project to source control as per usual. That will also give you a unique URL, etc.

anthony

permanent link
Mervyn Keene (171177) | answered Mar 21 '09, 12:49 p.m.
You are of course correct that it's possible to import these files as regular resources. This provides the benefits of versioned, safe storage and a stable URL but it still seems like kind of a hack to me. Users would have to know to look in a particular place within a particular (pseudo) project to see high-level documentation. I'm surprised this kind of thing isn't directly supported by RTC.