Deleting users (non-LDAP Tomcat) in RTC 4.x?
I see several folks have asked about this in the distant past, but it looks like it's been a year since it was last asked and I could swear the ability to delete users was added at some point.
We have a large number of users created back in RTC 2.x that had bad user IDs. These accounts were never actually used - have no work items or source artifacts associated with them - and thus there should not be any risk in removing them completely. I also wrote an app that uses the API to spit out a list of archived user accounts that don't own any work items or source artifacts, just to be sure.
We are using Tomcat with manually added IDs, not using LDAP. I know how to CHANGE user IDs, but we need to delete them as we long ago created good IDs to replace the bad ones.
We have a large number of users created back in RTC 2.x that had bad user IDs. These accounts were never actually used - have no work items or source artifacts associated with them - and thus there should not be any risk in removing them completely. I also wrote an app that uses the API to spit out a list of archived user accounts that don't own any work items or source artifacts, just to be sure.
We are using Tomcat with manually added IDs, not using LDAP. I know how to CHANGE user IDs, but we need to delete them as we long ago created good IDs to replace the bad ones.
One answer
Mike, I am not aware of a delete user function. In the web UI, you can archive users and get them out of the way.
I checked the repotools and there is also only the capability to archive the users exposed to users.
I can only imagine that the reason for this is that users could be potentially referenced at all kinds of places and deleting users could cause dangling references in many places.
There is an API call that allows to delete users, and it could be used, however, I am not sure if that could have bad consequences, should a user ID actually be referenced from other repository artifacts.
I checked the repotools and there is also only the capability to archive the users exposed to users.
I can only imagine that the reason for this is that users could be potentially referenced at all kinds of places and deleting users could cause dangling references in many places.
There is an API call that allows to delete users, and it could be used, however, I am not sure if that could have bad consequences, should a user ID actually be referenced from other repository artifacts.
Comments
sam detweiler
Jan 06 '14, 9:29 p.m.