It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How to control the users from setting up or modifying approvals


Lionel Li (21611216) | asked Jan 04 '13, 4:55 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
retagged Jan 09 '13, 4:36 p.m. by Ken Tessier (84117)
Some users found that the approvals attached with work item can be modified, removed or recreated by other users, they thought this is a defect or makes no sense. 

3 answers



permanent link
Lionel Li (21611216) | answered Jan 04 '13, 4:58 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
 A common use case of approval tracking to me is as following:
- user wants to have the WI to be approved by specified user/users before transmitting it from a state to another (eg. open to close, we may want to have certain coworkers to approve before closing the WI, etc.)

But sometimes user doesn't want to let other users to change/update/remove/recreate the approvals.  this can be done by setting the permissions based on roles.

The permission can be set based on different user's roles in the project. 

Go to "Process Configuration" -> "Team Configuration" -> "Permissions" -> select any role that you want to modify the permission -> In "Permitted actions" -> "Work Items" -> "Save Work Item (server)" -> "Modify the work item" -> "Setting up work item approvals" and "Modify work item approvals" 

- Please note that "Setting up work item approvals" won't allow the user with this role to perform any action on the existed approvals such as add/delete/change approver, etc. But if the user happens to be the approver assigned, he can still change the approval state if "modify work item approvals" permission is given.

- "Modify work item approvals" will only limit the approver to change the state of the approval. 

this part in info center isn't quite enough and detailed. we might need a tech note to talk about this.
https://jazz.net/help-dev/clm/topic/com.ibm.jazz.platform.doc/topics/ccm_role_permissions.html



permanent link
Ken Tessier (84117) | answered Jan 09 '13, 4:34 p.m.
This procedure is covered in the Requiring approvals for state transitions help topic.

Ken

permanent link
Nagesh Subrahmanyam (771111) | answered Jan 05 '13, 7:24 a.m.
This should be taken a step further by ensuring that users aren't able to save a work item to Resolved or Closed status with WI approval still pending. We found out this case after we implemented the permissions behaviour as described above.

To enforce the Approval/Review/Verification to be in Approved state, before a WI is in Resolved state, the operation behaviour for saving WI needs to be set. It can be set via Project Area -> Process Configuration -> Team Configuration -> Operation Behaviour. Select 'Save Work Item (Server)' and a role. Check the box for 'Preconditions and follow-up actions are configured for this operation' and select the 'Required Approvals' as the precondition.

Then, check the box for 'Enforce only for existing approvals' so that only those WI require approvals are in scope. Then, select a WI type such as Task and select a state as Resolved for example. Click Edit and select the value of Approval/Review/Verification as Approved.

This ensures that, the WI can be saved in Resolved status if the approval (Approval/Review/Verification) was in Approved state.

Your answer


Register or to post your answer.