It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Approvals can't be found?

Scott Chapman (3216547) | asked Oct 24 '11, 3:01 p.m.
I started playing around with approvals in 2.0.0.x and I am a bit confused.

So, I added to a defect that it needs approval but adding an Approval to the approver list and left it unassigned.

My assumption was that I could take the "Pending Approvals for me" query and change user to "anyone". Nothing found.

What am I missing?

6 answers

permanent link
Tim Mok (6.6k38) | answered Oct 24 '11, 4:21 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
I started playing around with approvals in 2.0.0.x and I am a bit confused.

So, I added to a defect that it needs approval but adding an Approval to the approver list and left it unassigned.

My assumption was that I could take the "Pending Approvals for me" query and change user to "anyone". Nothing found.

What am I missing?
I suspect it checks if it is assigned to anyone. If it's not assigned, then "anyone" doesn't fit the criteria for the query.

There's another condition "Approvals > Approver" that you can add. It has an option for unassigned. I believe that is the correct condition.

permanent link
Scott Chapman (3216547) | answered Oct 24 '11, 5:44 p.m.
I suspect it checks if it is assigned to anyone. If it's not assigned, then "anyone" doesn't fit the criteria for the query.

There's another condition "Approvals > Approver" that you can add. It has an option for unassigned. I believe that is the correct condition.

Ah, that wasn't quite what I expected, but I get it.

So now that I have an Approval setup, how does one use it exactly? These don't typically show up in people's queries (since they are looking for work items). And how do they actually "approve" something?

permanent link
Tim Mok (6.6k38) | answered Oct 25 '11, 8:22 a.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER