It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Using 'scm changeset relocate'

Dave Westerman (331010) | asked Apr 07 '10, 6:19 p.m.
I'm an RTC newb, and I have a question about using the 'scm changeset relocate' command. The documentation doesn't describe it very well, and the scm help command gives a little more info, but not much.

I want to move a couple changes from 'Unresolved' to an existing changeset. But I can't get it to work.

Here is the output of my 'scm status':

purpur:~/RTC/LynxDevStream$ scm status -C -w
Workspace: (1000) "LynxDevStream Workspace" <-> (1004) "LynxDevStream"
Component: (1001) "lynx"
Baseline: (1005) 1 "Initial Baseline"
Unresolved:
-c /lynx/etc/includes/UCM.xml
Outgoing:
Change sets:
(1006) --@ 7219 "UCM - Check in source for Propmeister and Logginator rout..." - "Update build files"
Changes:
---c /lynx/UCMPlugIns/Logginator/build/build.xml
Work items:
(1008) 7219 "UCM - Check in source for Propmeister and Logginator rout..."

I want to move the change under 'Unresolved' to the Change set 1006. Here is what I tried from the top level directory (so that the relative path would be correct):

$ scm changeset relocate -d . 1006 lynx/etc/includes/UCM.xml
Problem running 'changeset relocate':
Change identified by (1010) "lynx/etc/includes/UCM.xml" could not be found in workspace "LynxDevStream Workspace", component (1001) "lynx". Verify that change set is open and change exists.

I also tried with a '/' in front of the file, as the status listing shows it, but I keep getting then same error. Can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong?

2 answers

permanent link
Tim Mok (6.6k38) | answered Apr 08 '10, 9:50 a.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
The scm changeset relocate command is for moving changes already in a changeset to another changeset.

I think you want to use the 'checkin' command to check-in unresolved changes to a change set.

Hope that helps!

permanent link
Dave Westerman (331010) | answered Apr 08 '10, 11:03 a.m.