Mandatory duplicate work item link if "Duplicate" resolution is selected
Hi,
I'm working with RTC 6.0.1. I created a custom workflow and I'd like the workflow to prevent user from saving the associated workitem if "Duplicate" resolution is selected. Users will need to input the appropriate duplicate workitem link.
I've seen some related questions in this forum, but they're for older version of RTC. Also came across following enhancement request, but I'm not sure if this has been implemented in version 6.0.1
https://jazz.net/jazz/web/projects/Rational%20Team%20Concert#action=com.ibm.team.workitem.viewWorkItem&id=242467
In the following thread, it's mentioned that the action is hard-coded. So, if I need that same behavior on a customized workflow, how can I work-around it? I can't just use the same workflow id on the custom workflow, right? Are there any other option?
https://jazz.net/forum/questions/92342/how-can-we-disable-the-resolve-action-on-duplicate-linked-workitems
2 answers
The above RFE 242467 is marked as duplicate of Provide duplicate link check on save for all work-item workflows (237971) and 237971 is resolved as fixed in 6.0.1. I have not tried it in 6.0.1, but it looks like the RFE would allow flexible 'duplicate' resolution for each workflow.
Comments
showing 5 of 8
show 3 more comments
Hi sam,
Finally I have this figured out (i think), but it does not make any sense. I went through the workflow debugging with another colleague who is more familiar with it than I am. We tried a lot of trial and error.
The state group doesn't seem to have any impact. Even if Returned is in closed state group, the work item still would not force user to select a duplicate work item link when transitioning to Returned state with "Duplicate" as the answer.
What worked? Well... Added "Duplicate" resolution to "Resolve" Action. Previously, I only had one resolution ("Fixed") under Resolve action as per our workflow process. Now Resolve action has 2 resolution (Fixed, Duplicate) and Resolved state is in "In Progress" state group.
Having that change, now Selecting "Duplicate" resolution from ANY action (i.e. Return, Cancell, etc.) forces users to select "Duplicate" work item link. Does this make sense?