It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

DNG Importing Project Properties from one project to another

Manohar Rao (2211114) | asked Jan 11 '16, 3:22 p.m.
I'm unable to get this to work. In DNG, go to Manage Project Properties, and click the Import button at the right edge. The ensuing dialog asks to select a project, but when I click Browse, it says "There are no projects to select".

I have other projects on this server. I'm an administrator. What am I missing? How do I get it to show the list of projects from which I can copy project properties?

I'm trying this on DNG 6.0.1.

Accepted answer

permanent link
Dominic Tulley (38114) | answered Jan 12 '16, 9:07 a.m.
Hi Manohar,
This functionality is affected by whether you have "opted in" to Configuration Management or not in the project you are using.
It is unrelated to the "process sharing" mechanism Erica mentioned above.

If you are in an "opt out" project then the Import dialog should list all other "opt out" projects in your server.
If you are in an "opt in" project then the Import dialog should list all other project configurations contributed to the Global Configuration you are currently in.  If you are not in a Global Configuration then no other projects will be listed.

thanks,
-Dominic
Manohar Rao selected this answer as the correct answer

Comments
Manohar Rao commented Jan 12 '16, 1:22 p.m.

Thanks Dominic. I have now verified that this is indeed how it works.
Can you explain the rationale behind this? Why does CM matter here given that we're simply trying to import project properties from one project to another? And even more, why does GC matter here at all?

Dominic Tulley commented Jan 13 '16, 4:48 a.m.

We were aiming for consistency of behaviour (all the cross project visibility rules work like this so it seemed reasonable to do it here also).  As it happens, we have been discussing the fact that it does not need to act this way and it could be made to show all projects all the time.