It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Custom instalation and setup of RTC

Ricardo Costa (1727) | asked Apr 28 '15, 9:56 a.m.
edited May 29 '15, 1:29 p.m.
Hi,

I'll start using RTC (version 5.0.2)  in a few weeks and I'm a newbie. The RTC was customized by my client and it has a few limitations that it doesn't make my work easier.

1) There are 4 fixed streams, one for each environment (develop, quality, pre-prodution and prodution)
2) Cannot create extra streams, baselines or snapshots
3) From my workspace I can only deliver to the devolopment stream.
4) No one can deliver directly to the other streams
5) The code "flows" from the workspace to develop stream -> quality stream -> pre-prodution stream -> prodution stream

One big problem is that very often the code in develop/quality streams has features that aren't present in pre-produtcion/production. But when I have to fix code in the pre-production/production streams I have to "rollback" the entire code in develop/quality streams then apply the fix and flow the code to pre-production/production streams. In the end I have to update the develop/quality streams again to the current code.

Does this seem natural/normal? Agile?

Can you help me? Thanks

Ricardo

Comments
Abraham Sweiss commented Apr 30 '15, 4:09 p.m.

What is the tehcnical requirement that  baselines/snapshots can not be created?

Ricardo Costa commented Apr 30 '15, 4:20 p.m. | edited May 01 '15, 9:04 a.m.

Hi,  it's a large organization and I don't know the reason for those decisions. 

It seems logical that baselines and snapshots could be created but they can't. 

And also I cannot deliver code directly to maintenance streams. This makes my work very hard. 

Does this seems reasonable? 

Thanks

Abraham Sweiss commented Apr 30 '15, 4:29 p.m.