It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Build Forge: Start build on changed directory

Andy Jewell (24236174) | asked Aug 02 '13, 12:02 p.m.
 HI. . . Does anyone know a good approach for starting a build if files are added to a directory?  We have some business users that do not know (and do not want to know) anything about source code, etc.  So we put a little web page up that they can upload their files which we then want Build Forge to notice and start a build upon.

I couldn't find anything jumping out at me on the web.

The approaches that come to mind (keep in mind I'm a BF newb!) are:

• Create a selector such that if files are found in the designated location then the server is available to run the build.  First, I'm not sure if this would work, second, it doesn't seem conceptually accurate.
  • Use a cron job on the target server and somehow (?) initiate the build via API or command line tool (I've not gotten into BF enough to know what command line tools it has available).  Though this seems workable, it also seems to contradict the whole point of an automation framework.  If I have to kick it from outside I may as well just kick the build process from outside.
That's about all I can think of.  What I'm hoping is that there is some sort of event-adapter that I don't know about that can initiate a build when a configured directory on the build agent changes.

Anyone have any ideas?

- Andy

Accepted answer

permanent link
Spencer Murata (2.3k115971) | answered Aug 02 '13, 12:16 p.m.
FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
 You could do a collector/selector combination to count the files in a directory, but that will not be very responsive.  The manifest refresh on the servers is on a 24 hour cycle by default.  I would lean toward writing an adaptor to do what you want.

Adaptor help: