It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Request for feedback on FAQs (and proposed answers) (3 of 3)

Paul Sims (31513421) | asked Dec 14 '08, 7:07 p.m.
Please see topic https://jazz.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3062 for the context of my posting. This is the third topic of three.

Q9. As a manager I want to know the best dashboard views to use so that I can determine progress during each Scrum team's sprint.
A9. I recommend view "Current Iteration Plans," which shows each Scrum team's progress bar for the current sprint, the percentage of tasks estimated, work hours done, total work hours, and difference between actual and expected progress against the plan. In the Web UI, select "Iteration Plans" then "Current Iteration Plans."

Q10. As a manager I want to know the best dashboard views to use so that I can determine each Scrum team's progress against their product backlog.
A10. View "Current Iteration Plans" also shows each Scrum team's product backlog for the current release, including the percentage of tasks estimated and total work hours. Note that user stories are estimated in story points and the "Current Iteration Plans" view does not calculate story point totals. Agile teams create high-level estimates in story points at the beginning of a release (and whenever a new story is added to a team's Product Backlog), and detailed task estimates in hours at each sprint planning meeting. I recommend using reports "Story Points," "Storypoints by Iteration," and "Team Velocity" to monitor a Scrum team's progress throughout the release.

Q11. As a manager I want to know the capacity of my team for a release so that I can draw lines in the Product Backlog for the should haves, could haves, and might haves.