Jazz Forum Welcome to the Jazz Community Forum Connect and collaborate with IBM Engineering experts and users

issue with SQL server migration from DB2

I have a RTC server which is also a DB2 server. RTC has been working fine. Now I need to migrate to SQL server which is on another physical box. Here was what I did:
1. download SQL JDBC driver 1.2 and extracted it to E:\temp\SQL_JDBC\sqljdbc_1.2\enu on the RTC web server, NOT on the SQL database server.

2. modified the teamserver.sqlserver.properties file for the following lines only
com.ibm.team.repository.db.vendor = SQLSERVER
com.ibm.team.repository.db.jdbc.location=//SQL SERVER MACHINE IP:SQL SERVER TCIP PORT;databaseName=JAZZ DATABASE NAME;user=JAZZ USERNAME;password={password}
com.ibm.team.repository.db.jdbc.password=JAZZ LOGIN PASSWORD

3.Set the SQLSERVER_ABSPATH system environment variable on the RTC web server. I also tried copying the sqljdbc_1.2\enu\sqljdbc.jar file to \server\sqlserver\ directory.

4. Ran repotools -copy toFile=temp.tar target.teamserver.properties=teamserver.sqlserver.properties

The following error was displayed. Any comments please? Thanks. Based on the message, it was trying to locate the 'target' repositiry in DB2 instead of SQL.


E:\Program Files\StagingRTC2\JazzTeamServer\server>repotools -copy toFile=temp.t
ar target.teamserver.properties=teamserver.sqlserver.properties
Repo Tools, Version 1.0.1 - I20081024-1335
Provisioning using "E:\Program Files\StagingRTC2\JazzTeamServer\server\\provisio
n_profiles".
Rational Jazz Team Server - Standard
Loading configuration from "file:teamserver.properties".
Attempting Initial Database Connection Using
Db Name/Location: //localhost:50000/STGRTC3:fullyMaterializeLobData=false;user
=xxxxxxxx;password=xxxxxxxx;
Initial database connection successful
Db Product Name: DB2/NT
Db Product Version: SQL09051
Db URL: jdbc:db2://localhost:50000/STGRTC3
Jdbc Driver Name: IBM DB2 JDBC Universal Driver Architecture
Jdbc Driver Version: 3.6.60
Fulltext Index Location: E:\Program Files\StagingRTC2\JazzTeamServer\server\work
itemindex\fulltext_index\
CRJAZ1093I Service failed to activate.
CRJAZ1203I Could not determine the database location.

0 votes



15 answers

Permanent link
Can you provide the output of the repotools_copy.log file.. The log file is created in the server directory. The log file contains the exception information that would help us figure out the problem.

--- Balaji

I have a RTC server which is also a DB2 server. RTC has been working fine. Now I need to migrate to SQL server which is on another physical box. Here was what I did:
1. download SQL JDBC driver 1.2 and extracted it to E:\temp\SQL_JDBC\sqljdbc_1.2\enu on the RTC web server, NOT on the SQL database server.

2. modified the teamserver.sqlserver.properties file for the following lines only
com.ibm.team.repository.db.vendor = SQLSERVER
com.ibm.team.repository.db.jdbc.location=//SQL SERVER MACHINE IP:SQL SERVER TCIP PORT;databaseName=JAZZ DATABASE NAME;user=JAZZ USERNAME;password={password}
com.ibm.team.repository.db.jdbc.password=JAZZ LOGIN PASSWORD

3.Set the SQLSERVER_ABSPATH system environment variable on the RTC web server. I also tried copying the sqljdbc_1.2\enu\sqljdbc.jar file to \server\sqlserver\ directory.

4. Ran repotools -copy toFile=temp.tar target.teamserver.properties=teamserver.sqlserver.properties

The following error was displayed. Any comments please? Thanks. Based on the message, it was trying to locate the 'target' repositiry in DB2 instead of SQL.


E:\Program Files\StagingRTC2\JazzTeamServer\server>repotools -copy toFile=temp.t
ar target.teamserver.properties=teamserver.sqlserver.properties
Repo Tools, Version 1.0.1 - I20081024-1335
Provisioning using "E:\Program Files\StagingRTC2\JazzTeamServer\server\\provisio
n_profiles".
Rational Jazz Team Server - Standard
Loading configuration from "file:teamserver.properties".
Attempting Initial Database Connection Using
Db Name/Location: //localhost:50000/STGRTC3:fullyMaterializeLobData=false;user
=xxxxxxxx;password=xxxxxxxx;
Initial database connection successful
Db Product Name: DB2/NT
Db Product Version: SQL09051
Db URL: jdbc:db2://localhost:50000/STGRTC3
Jdbc Driver Name: IBM DB2 JDBC Universal Driver Architecture
Jdbc Driver Version: 3.6.60
Fulltext Index Location: E:\Program Files\StagingRTC2\JazzTeamServer\server\work
itemindex\fulltext_index\
CRJAZ1093I Service failed to activate.
CRJAZ1203I Could not determine the database location.

0 votes


Permanent link
Here is the log. Thanks.


2008-11-26 10:49:04,214 repotools -copy toFile=temp.tar target.teamserver.properties=teamserver.sqlserver.properties
2008-11-26 10:49:04,234 Repo Tools, Version 1.0.1 - I20081024-1335
2008-11-26 10:49:04,244 Provisioning using "E:\Program Files\StagingRTC2\JazzTeamServer\server\\provision_profiles".
2008-11-26 10:49:19,147 Rational Jazz Team Server - Standard
2008-11-26 10:49:19,197 Loading configuration from "file:teamserver.properties".
2008-11-26 10:49:21,581 Attempting Initial Database Connection Using
Db Name/Location: //localhost:50000/STGRTC3:fullyMaterializeLobData=false;user=xxxxxxxx;password=xxxxxxxx;
2008-11-26 10:49:24,996 Initial database connection successful
Db Product Name: DB2/NT
Db Product Version: SQL09051
Db URL: jdbc:db2://localhost:50000/STGRTC3
Jdbc Driver Name: IBM DB2 JDBC Universal Driver Architecture
Jdbc Driver Version: 3.6.60
2008-11-26 10:49:26,358 Fulltext Index Location: E:\Program Files\StagingRTC2\JazzTeamServer\server\workitemindex\fulltext_index\
2008-11-26 10:49:45,498 CRJAZ1093I Service failed to activate.
com.ibm.team.repository.common.transport.TeamServiceRegistryException: CRJAZ1126I The service "com.ibm.team.repository.service.internal.rdb.ConnectionPoolService" had some invalid configuration properties:
CRJAZ1125I The configuration property value "SQLSERVER" is not valid for the property "db.vendor". The "SQLSERVER" database vendor is not supported by the server license.
at

0 votes


Permanent link
FYI, I'm using the activation kits for RTC 1.0. Coudl this cause the issue? I see "The "SQLSERVER" database vendor is not supported by the server license".

0 votes


Permanent link
Yes, you need to use 1.0.1.

--- Balaji
Jazz Server Team

FYI, I'm using the activation kits for RTC 1.0. Coudl this cause the issue? I see "The "SQLSERVER" database vendor is not supported by the server license".

0 votes


Permanent link
Thanks.

Is there any way to reverse back to the temporary activation kits (licenses) that come with RTC 1.0.1? Thanks.

0 votes


Permanent link
I took another RTC 1.0 instance (with DB2 repo) and upgraded it to RTC1.0.1. I assume the temporary 1.0.1 licenses are being used after the upgrade. I tried "repotools -copy" and saw the same error message. That means the temporary RTC 1.0.1 license gave the same error. Any idea? Thanks.

In addition, at the top (line #3) of the repotools_copy.log file (see the previous message), there is a line

2008-11-26 23:45:03,311 Provisioning using "E:\Program Files\IBM_MSVCS\server\\provision_profiles".

There were double backslash char. Is this an issue and how to fix it? THanks.

0 votes


Permanent link
The same error message was displayed for a new instance that uses the out-of-box temporary RTC 1.0.1 licenses. Is this expected? Thanks.

0 votes


Permanent link
Ok, let's get on the same page as to what is happening. Are you saying
that you took a clean 1.0.1 install, and when you tried to use
SQLServer, it said that "The "SQLSERVER" database vendor is not
supported by the server license"?

-
Matt Lavin
Jazz Server Team


On Mon, 2008-12-01 at 21:57 +0000, yanli wrote:
The same error message was displayed for a new instance that uses the
out-of-box temporary RTC 1.0.1 licenses. Is this expected? Thanks.

0 votes


Permanent link
Thanks, Matt.

I tried these three scenarios and saw similar error messages.
1) Fresh installation of RTC101 and used temporaty RTC licenses. created a new SQL database. the error was displayed when trying to createTables.
2) upgraded an existing RTC1.0 instance and used the temporary 1.0.1 license. Try to migrate from DB2 to SQL.
3) upgraded an existing RTC1.0 instance and used the RTC 1.0 license. Try to migrate from DB2 to SQL.

All these were performed on the same physical box. It is possible that there is some incorrect configuration. But, not able to figure why.

0 votes


Permanent link
Scenario 1 should definitely work. Options 2 and 3 are not likely to
work because of the way our license keys are handled between 1.0 and
1.0.1.

Let's focus on scenario 1. Would it be possible to try that setup
again, and send the createTables log for that failure?

-
Matt Lavin
Jazz Server Team


On Tue, 2008-12-02 at 16:17 +0000, yanli wrote:
Thanks, Matt.

I tried these three scenarios and saw similar error messages.
1) Fresh installation of RTC101 and used temporaty RTC licenses.
created a new SQL database. the error was displayed when trying to
createTables.
2) upgraded an existing RTC1.0 instance and used the temporary 1.0.1
license. Try to migrate from DB2 to SQL.
3) upgraded an existing RTC1.0 instance and used the RTC 1.0 license.
Try to migrate from DB2 to SQL.

All these were performed on the same physical box. It is possible
that there is some incorrect configuration. But, not able to figure
why.

0 votes

1–15 items
page 1of 1 pagesof 2 pages

Your answer

Register or log in to post your answer.

Dashboards and work items are no longer publicly available, so some links may be invalid. We now provide similar information through other means. Learn more here.

Search context
Follow this question

By Email: 

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here.

By RSS:

Answers
Answers and Comments
Question details

Question asked: Nov 26 '08, 11:03 a.m.

Question was seen: 11,746 times

Last updated: Nov 26 '08, 11:03 a.m.

Confirmation Cancel Confirm