Upgrade confusion
I have upgraded from 4.0 RC3 to 4.0.1. There were a few problems (see my previous question) but I can now log on via the browser to admin. But the upgrade has not given me what I would expect of the term "upgrade".
The 4.0RC3 set up had several users. I can log on to 4.0.1 as those users (good) but it actually logs me in as "ADMIN" user rather than "jnorris". If I try with an incorrect user ("fred") then result is invalid username / password. Which is correct.
And as "jnorris" when I go to active users, there are none. Yet if there are none, how can I log in.
So I assumed upgrade meant that it was going to read the old db and put the data in the new db. And I guess it has because otherwise it should not let me log in. But neither should it log me in as one user and then make known as a different user.
Does anyone know what is going on?
Regards,
John
One answer
Upgrade does not move data from your old database to your new one. If you look at the interactive upgrade guide, you'll see the following instructions:
Copy the Derby databases from the old installation directory
Go to the directory where you just installed the version 4.0.1 applications and delete the Derby repositoryDB directory. Alternatively, you can open a command prompt and enter the following commands to clear the default version 4.0.1 Derby repositoryDB directory:
del /s /f 4.0.1_install_dir\server\conf\jts\derby\repositoryDBGo to the directory where you previously installed the CLM applications, copy the Derby database, and paste it in the equivalent directory for version 4.0.1. You can also open a command prompt and enter the following commands to copy the Derby database.
Note: The following commands work if you are using the Derby database that is provided with the packaged product. If you changed your Derby database location, update the path accordingly.
xcopy /s old_install_dir\server\conf\jts\derby\repositoryDB 4.0.1_install_dir\server\conf\jts\derby\repositoryDBxcopy /s old_install_dir\server\conf\jts\derby\warehouseDB 4.0.1_install_dir\server\conf\jts\derby\warehouseDB
If you did not copy the database over and your database location is relative, then your 4.0.1 server will use its prepackaged database which is empty. This would explain why you are being authenticated successfully but your user information is not found.
Comments
Ralph Schoon
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER Mar 08 '13, 5:45 a.m.john norris
Mar 08 '13, 6:57 a.m.Ralph Schoon
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER Mar 08 '13, 7:09 a.m.john norris
Mar 08 '13, 8:33 a.m.Ralph Schoon
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER Mar 08 '13, 11:07 a.m.