Question about the incremental build
I am trying to set up the incremental build for our team, using RTC 3.0.1.
I use the following settings in the Build definition :
- Delete directory before loading : UNCHECKED
- Accept latest changes ... CHECKED
- Build only if there are changes .. CHECKED
The build is automatically scheduled on a regular basis.
- Delete directory before loading : UNCHECKED
- Accept latest changes ... CHECKED
- Build only if there are changes .. CHECKED
The build is automatically scheduled on a regular basis.
I have a problem in the following scenario:
1) I make a mistake in the build definition
2) The scheduled build fails because of the mistake
3) I fixed the problem in the build definition
But now that the built doesn't start on the scheduled time since there is no change in the source code.
My question is that if there is way to force the build start if the previous build fails? For example, can I make my build workspace go back to the previous state (before the failed build)?
This is useful since for example, I want a "changed file list" between my current build and the last successful team build, so I can parse the "changed file list" to determine what target(s) I need to rebuild.
One answer
The build workspace isn't something you should be manually changing unless you want to change where it accepts changes for the build. Every time a build runs, the build workspace will change if it's accepting new changes. This is the reason a snapshot is created during a build. You can use snapshots to compare the builds to see the differences.
To answer your question, the build won't restart if there weren't any changes since the last one. Unless there's an intermittent failure, I wouldn't expect a rerun to have any chance of passing. You'll have to manually request a build to rebuild with the same content.
To answer your question, the build won't restart if there weren't any changes since the last one. Unless there's an intermittent failure, I wouldn't expect a rerun to have any chance of passing. You'll have to manually request a build to rebuild with the same content.