Download 6.0.6.1 Release
April 23, 2019
Try
Buy

IBM Rational DOORS Next Generation

Definition Management Analysis

Rational DOORS Next Generation 4.0.3

Product Release / Trial | June 7, 2013
This is not the most recent version. We recommend Rational DOORS Next Generation 6.0.6.1 . This is made available for archival purposes and may contain bugs and/or security vulnerabilities. If you do download this version, it is being provided AS IS, without warranties of any kind, including the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose. We strongly advise you review the support pages for this version and update the product or take actions recommended therein. Security bulletins contain instructions for the security vulnerability addressed therein, and may require upgrading to a newer version. Link to security vulnerability blog: IBM PSIRT blog.

Rational DOORS Next Generation 4.0.3 New & Noteworthy

Rational DOORS Next Generation 4.0.3 New & Noteworthy

Rational DOORS Next Generation is part of the Requirements Management application, which is an integral part of the Rational solution for Collaborative Lifecycle Management (CLM). For new and noteworthy information about other parts of the Rational solution for CLM, see these pages:

New in Requirements Management 4.0.3

Web client

Locks

Persistent locks

All locks are now persistent. For example, if you lock an artifact and the server is restarted or you edit the artifact, the lock will not be lost.

Locks and permissions

No matter which permissions you have, if you open an artifact and click Edit, the artifact is automatically locked until you click Done or Cancel.

If you have the new permission to manually lock artifacts, you can click a lock icon to manually lock an artifact. You might manually lock an artifact if you plan to edit the artifact for a longer time than usual. The icon is available in both the artifact editor and on the Artifacts page when you expand the edit menu of an artifact.

picture of hover text - locking information

When an artifact is locked, the lock icon changes. By hovering over the icon, you can view information about who locked the artifact and when it was locked. If you have permission to override locks, you can click the icon to override another user’s lock.

picture of hover text - locking information

In addition, when an artifact is locked, the Edit button in the editor is disabled.  When the artifact is unlocked, the Edit button is enabled.

Lock indicators

Locks are indicated in several places:

  • Artifact editor: Artifact editors now display a lock icon. When you click Edit, the artifact is automatically locked. When you click Done or Cancel, the artifact is automatically unlocked. If you have the new permission to manually lock artifacts, you can manually lock the artifact by clicking the lock icon.

    When an artifact is locked, the icon changes to reflect the owner of the lock, and the Edit button is disabled. If you have the new permission to override locks, you can release someone else's lock by clicking the lock icon.

  • Uploaded artifact editor: In the editor for uploaded artifacts, you can download and lock, upload, and upload and unlock an artifact. If another user locked the artifact, you can override the lock and upload a new version only if you have the override lock permission.
  • Artifacts page and the module editor: Lock icons are now shown on the Artifacts page and in the module editor. You can hover over the lock icon to see who locked the artifact and when it was locked.

Locking or unlocking multiple artifacts

You can select multiple artifacts and unlock or lock them at the same time.

Menu item to unlock 4 artifacts

Sorting and filtering artifacts by lock information

You can now add columns to an artifact or module view to indicate who locked an artifact or module and when it was locked. In addition, you can use a new attribute filter to create queries that are based on lock ownership. The following image shows that the "Locked by Any user" filter is applied to the view.

Locked by Any user filter

Artifacts

Uploaded artifacts

In the editor for uploaded artifacts, you have several options for working with uploaded artifacts:

  • Download an artifact
  • Download and lock an artifact
  • Upload an artifact

If you lock an uploaded artifact for editing, when you are finished editing, you can upload a new version of the artifact and unlock it.

picture of upload window

If another user locked an uploaded artifact, you can override the lock and upload a new version of the artifact only if you have the Modify Lock permission.

Duplicate links

Duplicate links can no longer be created between artifacts. If you try to create the same link relationship between two artifacts, an error message is displayed.

Error message

If you are creating multiple links and one or more of the links represent a link that already exists, an error message is displayed. However, new links that do not represent duplicates will still be created.

Text differences in artifact history

When you view the audit history of an artifact, you can use visual cues to understand how the artifact was changed.

  • Deleted content is highlighted in red and is struck-through.
  • Added content is highlighted in blue.
  • Changes to formatting are highlighted in blue and are underlined.

Audit History of an artifact

Rich client

Locks

Automatic and manual locks

When you edit an artifact, it is automatically locked.

Artifact in edit mode

When you save or close the artifact, it is unlocked. If you have the required permissions, you can manually lock an artifact. When you save or close a manually locked artifact, it remains locked. To unlock a manually locked artifact, you must manually unlock it.

Overriding locks

You can also override someone else's lock on an artifact if you have the permissions to do so. You might override someone else's lock if that person is not available to unlock the artifact. You might also override someone else's lock on an artifact when you need to lock that artifact for editing.

Lock indicators

In certain editors and in the Explorer window, icons indicate whether artifacts are locked and whether you locked them. For example, the next image shows the icon that is shown in the Explorer when another user locks an artifact.

Lock icon when another user locked the artifact

In the Artifact editor and the Properties editor, the icons do not indicate lock states.

In addition, menu items indicate whether you can lock or unlock an artifact. For example, if another user locked an artifact and you do not have permission to override the lock, both the lock icon and the menu item to lock that artifact are disabled.

Lock information in modules

If you hover over a locked artifact in a module, you can see information about who locked the artifact and when it was locked. To see the lock information, hover over the ID column, as the next image shows.

Lock information in module

Module editing

Resizing columns by dragging them

You can now resize the columns in a module by dragging the edges of the column heading cells. You can resize all columns except for the left-most column, which has no heading.

When you start to resize a column, in-place editing is disabled. Your edits are retained as unsaved changes in the module.

If you resize the Contents column in a view that includes indentation to reflect module hierarchy, the indentation is resized dynamically in proportion to the column width.

Icons for artifact types

You can set an icon to indicate an artifact type. To select an icon, open the web client and go to the project properties page.

Module with icons

The new icons are supported to be displayed in both the the Explorer window and in a module.

Icons in the Explorer window

When an artifact that uses one of these new icons is cut, the icon is disabled.

Disabled icons

Serviceability

A data collecting command-line utility named data_collector.exe is available in the \bin directory. You can use the utility to automatically gather system- and product-related information.

Locale settings

You can now set the locale of the rich client by using an optional configuration parameter named locale.