It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Basic build engine question

Anita Jey (1611315) | asked Apr 05 '12, 12:29 p.m.
Hi,

I am new to the RTC world, and I am slowly feeling my way and learning things. One the the things that I am trying to do is create a test build engine and build definition on my local jazz team server environment.

I am following instructions from the link:
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/rtczhelp/v2r0m0/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.teamz.tutorial.doc/topics/tut_rtcz_create_build_def.html

Went as far as creating the test build engine and build def, but am stumped by the following statement:

To start the build engine:

From a command line, navigate to installdir/buildsystem/buildengine/eclipse, where installdir is the Build System Toolkit installation directory

Type jbe -vm clientinstalldir/jazz/client/eclipse/jdk/bin/java -repository repositoryURL -userId build pass password -engineId PreludeBuildEngine ...

I don't remember installing a "Build System Toolkit" when I installed the jazz team server. Is it implicitly done? Or did I miss a crucial step?

I also don't find any folders/path structure called buildsystem, buildengine, or even a file called jbe. What am I missing?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
-AJ

Accepted answer

permanent link
Christophe Lucas (86224948) | answered Apr 05 '12, 1:05 p.m.

I don't remember installing a "Build System Toolkit" when I installed the jazz team server. Is it implicitly done? Or did I miss a crucial step?
-AJ

The build toolkit requires a separate download that you can get on the 'Downloads -- Rational Team Concert (-- select your RTC Version) -- All Downloads' tab.
Then you can install it using the 'Installation Manager' or the plain .zip file - instructions also available for IBM i or z/OS :
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/clmhelp/v3r0m1/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.jazz.install.doc%2Ftopics%2Ft_install_build_toolkit.html