It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Fetch Contributor Name In a Save Operation Participant.

Arun Batra (14612427) | asked Sep 01 '11, 3:38 p.m.
Hi,
I am trying to write an operation participant for a Work Item save operation.
In the code of the Participant, I am able to get the value of the creation time attribute. (return type is TimeStamp)

Object data = operation.getOperationData();
ISaveParameter saveparam= null;
IWorkItem newstate = (IWorkItem) saveparam.getNewState();
newState.getCreationDate();

But i am having trouble to get the value of the Owned By attribute.
Can someone suggest an approach.

I am very new at this and hence require help.
I would be very grateful if someone could suggest some sort of tutorials where Extending RTC using java can be studied in depth. I have already tried the HelloJazz/ Hi Jazz tutoriials but they are clearly not sufficient.
Please help.

5 answers

permanent link
David Van Herzele (10121) | answered Sep 02 '11, 6:40 a.m.
I think you have trouble transforming the handle into an actual Contributor object. You should use the RepositoryItemService for that.

IContributorHandle contribHandle = newState.getOwner();

IContributor contrib = (IContributor) repositoryItemService.fetchItem(contribHandle, null);

If you wonder how to get repositoryItemService:
IRepositoryItemService repositoryItemService = getService(IRepositoryItemService.class);

Cheers!

permanent link
Arun Batra (14612427) | answered Sep 02 '11, 7:52 a.m.
Thanks a lot David. This was exactly what I required. U made my day...

permanent link
Arun Batra (14612427) | answered Sep 02 '11, 8:05 a.m.
Could you tell me where to learn all this from. I am kind of lost. But i am very interested to dive into the concepts. I mean what's next after going through the tutorials on jazz.net (HiJazz/Hello Jazz etc..).

permanent link
David Van Herzele (10121) | answered Sep 02 '11, 8:48 a.m.