It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Creating a Build Template and Build Engine

Steve White (4021213) | asked Feb 10 '11, 3:40 p.m.
Hi, I'm new to RTC, but have developed plug-ins for eclipse for several years.
I currently have a plug-in that provides the user a function to do builds on a host server. It solicits various input from the, which then passes this info onto the host server where the actual build process executes. Code is retrieved on the host side form the SCM. Also a additional function is users can build code form their workspace, which is uploaded to the host as part of the build (this function I would relate to what is called a personal build in RTC)

What I want to do i sport this over to RTC 3.0, but incorporating as much of the RTC features as possible. What I envision I will need is to create a build Engine and a Build template. The template would be selected in the build definition and the build engine would drive the build interacting with the host server.

I have been able to locate little information on how to create a new Build template and have it appear in the build definition. As well I have found little information on creating a Build Engine.

Is there documentation or articles that could describe and direct me to what I need to do for this? Or can someone provide that information.

Thanks, Steve

3 answers

permanent link
David Lafreniere (4.8k7) | answered Feb 10 '11, 7:43 p.m.
FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
Is there documentation or articles that could describe and direct me to what I need to do for this? Or can someone provide that information.
Thanks, Steve

Hi Steve, These links should help for now, but I'll try to dig up some other documentation if they exist...

The Main Build Wiki site:
https://jazz.net/wiki/bin/view/Main/BuildMain

Some Build Design Info such as extension points, etc.
https://jazz.net/wiki/bin/view/Main/BuildDesignInfo

This Forum topic discusses how to create a custom pre-build participant: