It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

RTC3 Login hook

Benjamin Chodroff (8985231) | asked Dec 02 '10, 5:38 p.m.
I'm very new to RTC development and I'd appreciate any help in getting started. I'm going to follow the instructions in the RTCSDK20 Wiki for Client/Server.

I am trying to make a server plugin that hooks into the login call. If a login authentication is unsuccessful, I want to pass the username to a function that will:
    1. Securely bind to the configured LDAP
    2. Query the LDAP if that user exists (password doesn't matter)
    3. Create the new user in RTC as a JazzUser and assign a floating dev license
    4. Retry authentication

Can someone make a suggestion where this "login" call is? Is there a better way of doing this?

I'm sure someone will say "You should use the nightly LDAP synchronizer" -- but this particular customer has 100,000+ LDAP users all contained in one group and the synchronizer takes days to run. I'm pursuing this plugin as an alternate solution to reduce the delay for new users. Help, suggestions, and alternative ideas appreciated!

8 answers

permanent link
Christophe Elek (2.9k13021) | answered Dec 03 '10, 1:45 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
. If a login authentication is unsuccessful, I want to pass the username

Ben,
You mean the authorization right ?
Authentication is done by the app, once this is done the userid is passed to the server . if you user does not exist , the connection is refused.

There are 2 things we need to do,
1) we need to trace the ldapSynch and check where the time si spent (enable the ldap trace, send the results)
2) you could create a script that will export the users in a CSV format (the 150 000) users and then you can use repotools -importusers to create them (or did you try and it takes too long too ?)

Chris

permanent link
Benjamin Chodroff (8985231) | answered Dec 03 '10, 2:29 p.m.