It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Eclipse and visual studio IDE for the same project- RTC


Yaron Norani (47267065) | asked Jun 21 '10, 5:54 a.m.
Hello,

We have a project that involves Eclipse and also visual studio.
The user wants to work on the same project (RTC workspace) with both IDE's.

When trying to same a file in Eclipse we get the error message:
"save could not be completed.
copy file area locked by another process. could not acquire lock on ..jazzlock"


What is our recommendation for working in parallel from both IDE's?
I am aware to the 2 Repo worksapces+workspaces scenario.

Any other solution?

Thanks,

Yaron

15 answers



permanent link
Jose Miguel Ordax Cassa (2.4k4126100) | answered Jun 21 '10, 7:02 a.m.
On 6/21/2010 12:08 PM, yaron wrote:
Hello,

We have a project that involves Eclipse and also visual studio.
The user wants to work on the same project (RTC workspace) with both
IDE's.

When trying to same a file in Eclipse we get the error message:
"save could not be completed.
copy file area locked by another process. could not acquire lock on
.jazzlock"


What is our recommendation for working in parallel from both IDE's?
I am aware to the 2 Repo worksapces+workspaces scenario.

Any other solution?

Thanks,

Yaron


Why not load VS Solution into different folder than Eclipse projects?
I understand it should be possible to have in the same Stream/Component
and Repository Workspace all VS and Eclipse projects but when you load
them from VS or Eclipse, you could choose to load just your specific
projects (solution in VS).

I don0t see why you should use same local folder for Eclipse and VS. It
doesn't make sense for me.

Hope this helps,

Chemi.

permanent link
Sacha Perret-Gentil (6121) | answered Jun 21 '10, 7:02 a.m.
Hello,

We are in the same case, we tryed to set up 2 workspaces, one for each IDE but the users doesn't love this way of working, because changes where affecting same files in in both IDE. Puting and getting changes between 2 workspaces is not very useable in this case.

Some question to IBM guys :
Why the SCM engine is not the same instance for both IDE, like in other source control systems ?

Do you have any other advice ?


Thanks.

Sacha



Hello,

We have a project that involves Eclipse and also visual studio.
The user wants to work on the same project (RTC workspace) with both IDE's.

When trying to same a file in Eclipse we get the error message:
"save could not be completed.
copy file area locked by another process. could not acquire lock on ..jazzlock"


What is our recommendation for working in parallel from both IDE's?
I am aware to the 2 Repo worksapces+workspaces scenario.

Any other solution?

Thanks,

Yaron

permanent link
Jose Miguel Ordax Cassa (2.4k4126100) | answered Jun 21 '10, 7:19 a.m.
On 6/21/2010 1:08 PM, sachapg wrote:
Hello,

We are in the same case, we tryed to set up 2 workspaces, one for each
IDE but the users doesn't love this way of working, because changes
where affecting same files in in both IDE. Puting and getting changes
between 2 workspaces is not very useable in this case.

Some question to IBM guys :
Why the SCM engine is not the same instance for both IDE, like in
other source control systems ?

Do you have any other advice ?


Thanks.

Sacha

Problem I think, is that each IDE instance uses and locks internal files
so can't be shared. The first IDE will lock some internal files.

The same happens for example, if you try to open same workspace from two
different instances of Eclipse. Some internal files of the workspace are
used/locked by the first instance.

Don't know if anybody from development know any workaround or trick to
overcome this behavior.

Regards,

Chemi.

permanent link
Yaron Norani (47267065) | answered Jun 21 '10, 7:23 a.m.

Hello,

Thanks for the response.
When you say: " when you load
them from VS or Eclipse, you could choose to load just your specific
projects (solution in VS)."

Do you mean using 2 different worksapces?
I know that we should use only one workspace per repository workspace.
Do you mean that I will use other configuration?
Please note that I would like to use one repository workspace for both IDE's activity.

Yaron.

permanent link
Jose Miguel Ordax Cassa (2.4k4126100) | answered Jun 21 '10, 8:14 a.m.
On 6/21/2010 1:38 PM, yaron wrote:

Hello,

Thanks for the response.
When you say: " when you load
them from VS or Eclipse, you could choose to load just your specific

projects (solution in VS)."

Do you mean using 2 different worksapces?
I know that we should use only one workspace per repository
workspace.
Do you mean that I will use other configuration?
Please note that I would like to use one repository workspace for
both IDE's activity.

Yaron.


I was speaking about a single Repository Workspace but two Local
Workpaces - different folders where projects are loaded in your desktop
(one per IDE, one opened by Eclipse and another one by VS).

I think you could use two different Local Workspaces (one per IDE)
connected to a single Repository Workspace. When you load a component
from the Repository Workspace you can choose which projects should be
loaded and which ones shouldn't so depends on the IDE you are, you load
the correct ones.

Of course, as Sacha commented before, if you have a folder that is going
to be loaded in both IDEs (Local Workspaces) and a file is updated in
it, you should accept incoming change twice (in each IDE).

Anyway, I haven't tested myself such configuration. I just have loaded
specific projects (instead of complete component) and I know that is
possible. I'm not sure if there is any side effect loading pieces of a
Component in each IDE (Local Workspaces).

Regards,

Chemi.

permanent link
Sacha Perret-Gentil (6121) | answered Jun 21 '10, 9:53 a.m.
Hi Chemi,

I have tested one repository workspace for 2 local workspace (1 for Vs and 1 for Eclipse) but I quickly get "Out of sync" warning, and this seems not a good idea as I can read on jazz.net in various pages.

It was with 2.0.0.0 and not for the latest version, maybe it's better now, but I can imagine having two local workspace (including .jazz5 dir) against one repo workspace can be a problem.

Sacha

On 6/21/2010 1:38 PM, yaron wrote:

Hello,

Thanks for the response.
When you say: " when you load
them from VS or Eclipse, you could choose to load just your specific

projects (solution in VS)."

Do you mean using 2 different worksapces?
I know that we should use only one workspace per repository
workspace.
Do you mean that I will use other configuration?
Please note that I would like to use one repository workspace for
both IDE's activity.

Yaron.


I was speaking about a single Repository Workspace but two Local
Workpaces - different folders where projects are loaded in your desktop
(one per IDE, one opened by Eclipse and another one by VS).

I think you could use two different Local Workspaces (one per IDE)
connected to a single Repository Workspace. When you load a component
from the Repository Workspace you can choose which projects should be
loaded and which ones shouldn't so depends on the IDE you are, you load
the correct ones.

Of course, as Sacha commented before, if you have a folder that is going
to be loaded in both IDEs (Local Workspaces) and a file is updated in
it, you should accept incoming change twice (in each IDE).

Anyway, I haven't tested myself such configuration. I just have loaded
specific projects (instead of complete component) and I know that is
possible. I'm not sure if there is any side effect loading pieces of a
Component in each IDE (Local Workspaces).

Regards,

Chemi.

permanent link
Anthony Kesterton (7.5k7180136) | answered Jun 21 '10, 12:01 p.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
Hello,

We have a project that involves Eclipse and also visual studio.
The user wants to work on the same project (RTC workspace) with both IDE's.

When trying to same a file in Eclipse we get the error message:
"save could not be completed.
copy file area locked by another process. could not acquire lock on ..jazzlock"


What is our recommendation for working in parallel from both IDE's?
I am aware to the 2 Repo worksapces+workspaces scenario.

Any other solution?

Thanks,

Yaron


Hi

Is the source code for the Visual Studio and Eclipse projects the same? If not - you may be able to use two components (one for Eclipse projects and one for the VS projects), and load the relevant component into each IDE.

anthony

permanent link
Geoffrey Clemm (30.1k33035) | answered Jun 21 '10, 12:15 p.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
In general, IDE's don't like their files to unexpectedly change out from
underneath them in the middle of a session. The normal way of using RTC
is to keep different environments like this each in its own repository
workspace, and then make each repository workspace a flow target of the
other, so you'll see any changes from each workspace show up as incoming
changes for the other workspace. Explicitly accepting those changes
from the Pending Changes view then gives RTC the chance to notify the
IDE that files have changed (preventing a variety of very obscure errors
that result with the IDE isn't aware of its files having changed out
from underneath itself).

So the first thing I'd do is make sure that your users are aware of the
ability to have workspaces as flow targets, and have them try this out
for a while.

Cheers,
Geoff

On 6/21/2010 7:08 AM, sachapg wrote:
Hello,

We are in the same case, we tryed to set up 2 workspaces, one for each
IDE but the users doesn't love this way of working, because changes
where affecting same files in in both IDE. Puting and getting changes
between 2 workspaces is not very useable in this case.

Some question to IBM guys :
Why the SCM engine is not the same instance for both IDE, like in
other source control systems ?

Do you have any other advice ?


Thanks.

Sacha



yaronwrote:
Hello,

We have a project that involves Eclipse and also visual studio.
The user wants to work on the same project (RTC workspace) with both
IDE's.

When trying to same a file in Eclipse we get the error message:
"save could not be completed.
copy file area locked by another process. could not acquire lock on
.jazzlock"


What is our recommendation for working in parallel from both IDE's?
I am aware to the 2 Repo worksapces+workspaces scenario.

Any other solution?

Thanks,

Yaron

permanent link
Yaron Norani (47267065) | answered Jun 23 '10, 4:15 p.m.
Hello,

I've discussed the 2 repository workspaces with my team.
We still would like to find a better way to implement our needs.
Is there a solution to develop with both IDE's using the same Reposityry workspace.
One reason for that is that -the team would like to use the same changeset when developing cross-IDE's.

Thanks

Yaron

permanent link
Yaron Norani (47267065) | answered Jun 29 '10, 4:47 p.m.
Hello,

I would like to explain the requirement.
Also please note that we are in a middle of a POC process for one of our customers.

We have a project that involved both Eclipse and Visual Studio development.
Eclipse for UI and VS for other.
We need to address the following use case:
1. changing the UI = Eclipse.
2. Compile = Eclipse.
3. Check changes, and consume the compiled files from step 2= Visual Studio.
4. Perform changes in Visual Studio.
5. Optional - change again the UI = Eclipse.

And so on.

What is the suggested RTC configuration for the user that needs to go through stages 1-5 ?

Please note that VS environment need the products made in the Eclipse.

Thanks,

Yaron

Your answer


Register or to post your answer.


Dashboards and work items are no longer publicly available, so some links may be invalid. We now provide similar information through other means. Learn more here.