It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Jazz clm behind reverse proxy - new-comer questions

Victor L (112) | asked Feb 20 '19, 11:31 a.m.

Hi,

First, a disclaimer;  I am a total newbie with IBM softwares but I know reverse-proxies, tomcat, web applications.
So, for a test environment reproducing a client setup, I need to setup a Jazz CLM application server (server A) behind a reverse proxy IHS 9.0 (server B). I used the CLM web installer for Windows version 6.0.6 and it seems to work fine.

I have read a lot of articles and how-to but I am still confused with vocabulary and all websphere application server ecosystem. When I go to the root url of my CLM installation, I see "Websphere Liberty 18.0.0.1". A few questions:

- How is "Websphere Liberty 18.0.0.1" related to Websphere eco-system ? I am confused because in IBM knowledge center, products page, there are "Websphere Application Server", "WAS Liberty", "WAS Liberty base", "WAS Liberty Core" ... and none of this product has a 18.0.0.1 version

- If I understand the articles right, the procedure seems to use Web Server plugins, but is it even possible to use them with "Websphere Liberty 18.0.0.1" ? because these plugins seems to be part of WAS not WAS Liberty, and which version should I use 8.5 or 9.0 ?

- If it's not possible with the version I used, should I re-install CLM directly on a classic WAS ?

- Finally, I have already a working installation with a public URL with something like "https://clm606-test.domain.tld:9443", and with the proxy I would like to access it with a URL like this "https://clm6.domain.tld". Is-it too late ? should I re-install and change my public URL to the proxy one ?

Maybe it's because I am not familiar with these products but it's very messy in my head and I would like to understand what I am doing and why.

Best regards,

3 answers

permanent link
Ralph Schoon (63.1k33646) | answered Feb 21 '19, 2:46 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER