It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Work item (having attachment) deletion will release disk space


Prashantha Kumari (358) | asked Apr 03 '17, 5:21 a.m.

Hello,

           If we delete work items having attachment, will it release space in server? will it reduce the database size?

We tested deletion of workitems which was having 4 GB attachment, after deletion, the DB size is same as after we add WI to RTC.

we followed the steps which is given in link https://jazz.net/library/article/1459, we run reorg , around 42-43 MB can be freed if we reduce the High Water mark eventhough we added 4 GB data and deleted 4 GB data to Work item.

Please let me know , can't we reclaim space in RTC if we delete attachments in WI? How can we reclaim space as we have less space in production.

Thanks,
Prashanthi.

One answer



permanent link
Ralph Schoon (59.7k23643) | answered Apr 03 '17, 6:51 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER

 The space is not automatically reflected, you will have to run a DB reorg to do so. See https://jazz.net/library/article/1459 .


Comments
Prashantha Kumari commented Apr 04 '17, 10:54 a.m.

 Hello Ralph,


        Thanks for reply. We followed the steps which is given in this link. We couldn't reclaim the space which we deleted. 

We saw below statement in info center for deleting work items in web client. Here it is mentioned " Manual clean up of repository data is necessary after deletion". What is the meaning of this statement. After we delete workitems , run db2 command which is given in this link or anything we need to take care before run the db2 commands?

You might need to permanently remove information that was stored in a work item from a repository. For example, if sensitive information was entered in a comment, description, attachment, etc., which you no longer want to store in the related repository, then you can delete the relevant work items. Manual cleanup of repository data is necessary after deletion

Thanks,
Prashanthi.


Ralph Schoon commented Apr 06 '17, 3:02 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
 " Manual clean up of repository data is necessary after deletion". 

Refers to the database reorganization as far as I know. 

Your answer


Register or to post your answer.