It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How to deploy a trigger on GUI and/or Server event on DOORS NG ?

Joseph Aracic (2716) | asked Aug 11 '16, 4:00 a.m.
 Hi, 
My first concern now is to be able to run automatically a javascript when a user open a DNG document.
A "trigger" that execute a widget could be the right way to do that, but I found no trace of that in https://jazz.net/wiki/bin/view/Main/RMExtensions602

May be it is something that is more "buried" in JAZZ (something like a trigger on Work Items events). I'm not a JAZZ expert, and I have not found any documentation related to that.

I'm quite sure that I heard a IBM application Engineer has said that is is at least possible to deploy a trigger in DNG based on a user(GUI) event. 

Actually, the "Trigger" is a great weapon to enforce a workbench, I would be surprized that Jazz platform does not provide an equivalent mechanism.

I use :
  • Jazz Foundation - Core Libraries  V 6.0.1 (but soon the last one)
  • Rational DOORS Next Generation V 6.0
Does someone can help me ?
Thanks in advance.

Accepted answer

permanent link
Philipp Waldinger (1313) | answered Aug 11 '16, 7:44 a.m.
edited Aug 30 '16, 4:14 a.m.
If I understand your question right, you want to run a javascript as soon as an artifact with format module is opened.

Assuming you have access to the javascript RM Object (e.g. in a widget), you could try the following:
  1. Subscribe to the ARTIFACT_OPENED event: 
    RM.Event.subscribe(RM.Event.ARTIFACT_OPENED, yourFunction(openedArtifact)); 

2. In yourFunction, get the artifact format attribute of the opened artifact: 
    RM.Data.getAttributes(openedArtifact, [RM.Data.Attributes.FORMAT], yourSecondFunction(result)) 

3. In yourSecondFunction, check whether the artifact type is RM.Data.Formats.MODULE: 
    result.data[0].values[RM.Data.Attributes.FORMAT] == RM.Data.Formats.MODULE 
    If this is the case, a module has been opened.