Is it possible to assign user to plan without allocation or use more than 100% user allocation?
Hello!
I am using RTC 5.0.2 and try to use traditional planning.
I am looking for a kind of switch to enable "unrealistic" planning in RTC. According to "JAZZ manual pages" for planning, I should first do a planning without user assignment. Create a proposed snapshot and then add user assignments and sort my plan new.
I want to assign the tasks to users, but use 100% of the resource. But I do not want to influence the other projects.
Isn't it possible to an user with more than 100% in several projects?
We are not using JAZZ for resource planning, therefore I want to create my plans without doing the allocation.
And additionally I am looking for something to change the past of a plan. So what happens if a workitem is not started as planned because a user forgot to start and stop it? The complete plan is destroyed. Maybe we are working too confused, but it happens very often.
Thanks!
Christian
2 answers
You can not change the past of the plan, or the plan snapshot data. There is no UI available for that. Please also keep in mind, that in RTC a plan is a life view on the work items in its scope and not just some arbitrary data in a tool like MS Project.
The first is the allocation of the percentage of a user's time to a particular team area.
The total of all those allocation can never be greater than 100% (for a given RTC repository).
If you are not concerned about resource planning, then you can just let RTC automatically manage that assignment (which it does, by evenly dividing a user's time percentage to each of the team areas to which that user is assigned).
The second is the allocation of a set of tasks to a given user (by making that user the "owner" of those tasks). For that, you can over-allocate the user as much as you want ... RTC will just show you how over-allocated that user is for a given team area (which is only an interesting value if you have explicitly assigned that user the appropriate percentage of time to that team area).
I didn't understand what you meant by "the complete plan is destroyed". The RTC plan is live and reflects reality, and you are expected to adjust work item information at any time, and those adjustments are instantly reflected in the plan (so if you forgot to adjust the values in a work item, just make the adjustments when you notice it).