It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Setting up streams for development question

Daniel Spiess (5693) | asked Jun 18 '09, 3:35 p.m.
Hi,

I'm trying to figure out the best way to set up our source environment. What I'd like to see is something like the following:

Workspace -> Development -> Integration -> Main Line

Developers make their changes and post them to their team's development line. Then when each development line is frozen I'd like to push those changes to an integration line to make sure each team's changes do not conflict. Then ultimately when it's passed certification, I want to push those changes to the main line.

I'm new to Jazz and I'm confused about how I'd set this up. It looks like I need to be using flow targets, but it's not clear to me which direction things should be flowing in Jazz.

I've created two projects to test with, one called Cert and the other called Dev. I'd want Cert to be the only project which can deliver code to the repository, and Dev can only deliver to Cert. Should the flow targets for Cert include Dev, and the flow targets for Dev be blank? Or should it be the other way around? Are there easy to follow steps somewhere that I can use?

Thanks!
DJ Spiess

6 answers

permanent link
Anthony Kesterton (7.5k7180136) | answered Jun 19 '09, 11:35 a.m.
JAZZ DEVELOPER
Hi,

I'm trying to figure out the best way to set up our source environment. What I'd like to see is something like the following:

Workspace -> Development -> Integration -> Main Line

Developers make their changes and post them to their team's development line. Then when each development line is frozen I'd like to push those changes to an integration line to make sure each team's changes do not conflict. Then ultimately when it's passed certification, I want to push those changes to the main line.