It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Oracle JDeveloper/Team Productivity Center/OSLC Integration

Ben Rodway (111) | asked Feb 05 '14, 12:34 p.m.
 Hi,

has anyone ever managed to successfully integrate RTC (4.0.4) with Oracle Team Productivity Center via the OSLC plugin for JDev? I have the plugin installed and have configured the RTC server as a repository, however I just keep getting the error: 

"TPC-00029: Test failed. Change Service Initialization Error - Start of root element expected"

The oracle documentation for the plugin is terrible and only details how to get the server IP address for RTC, nothing more. We are forced to use Jdeveloper and would really like to be able to access our work items directly from it.

JDeveloper 11.2.4, OTPC Server 11.2.4, RTC 4.0.4. 

Thanks in advance!

Comments
Donald Nong commented Feb 06 '14, 12:26 a.m.

Although I have no experience in OTPC, by looking at the error message, I suspect that the OTPC did not get a proper REST response in the connection test. What URL do you use for the RTC server? Something like
https:// host-name :9443/ccm/rootservices ?
If you know how to do it, you can capture the network traffic and see what request is sent to the RTC server and what is returned. I expect everything to be in XML format.

Ben Rodway commented Feb 06 '14, 4:54 a.m.

Thanks for your reply. 

I'm actually hitting the server via apache, with SSL turned off. I've experimented with different URLs (and enabling SSL, bypassing apache) but to no avail. 

My current URL is http://hostname/ccm - I can see in the apache log that the client ultimately ends up requesting /ccm/oslc/workitems/catalog but receives a 302 which implies that it is attempting to redirect the client. I'll see if I can find out where to (I don't have wireshark or similar on this system unfortunately).

Sudarshan Rao commented Feb 06 '14, 7:46 a.m.