It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

Frustrated developer! Any tips/hints for faster development?

Anita Jey (1611315) | asked May 16 '12, 11:43 a.m.
I am a relatively new plugin developer, and there are some things that I observe when developing plugins that pushes me beyond frustration.
I am sharing them here, so you can tell if its just me, or if there are others in the same boat!

1. I am not able to rely on the OSGI dialog. If I type ss command once, I get a set of results, and if I type ss again, I get a different set of results. Even if I type ss <bundle>, I get different results (bundle status, bundle numbers) each time, like below. Diag <number> also results in different answers each time.
osgi> ss com.ibm.stst
Framework is launched.
id State Bundle
346 RESOLVED com.ibm.stst.cpk.common_1.0.0.201205161102
347 INSTALLED com.ibm.stst.cpk.service_1.0.0.201205161102

osgi> ss com.ibm.stst
Framework is launched.
id State Bundle
340 ACTIVE com.ibm.stst.cpk.common_1.0.0.201205161102
341 ACTIVE com.ibm.stst.cpk.service_1.0.0.201205161102

osgi> ss com.ibm.stst
Framework is launched.
id State Bundle
346 RESOLVED com.ibm.stst.cpk.common_1.0.0.201205161102
347 INSTALLED com.ibm.stst.cpk.service_1.0.0.201205161102

osgi> ss com.ibm.stst
Framework is launched.
id State Bundle
340 ACTIVE com.ibm.stst.cpk.common_1.0.0.201205161102
341 ACTIVE com.ibm.stst.cpk.service_1.0.0.201205161102

2. It takes me a loooong time (almost 20-30 mins) to install a new version of a plugin onto Tomcat. I delete the respective folders from under Tomcat/work each time (Is this needed?). I also invoke the jts/ccm url on a browser to speeden it up, and it does make a difference, but it is still very slow. Is there a quicker way to deploy a new plugin?

3. I am not able to rely on the logs generated. For eg: I get errors in the log, but they are not accurate and the bundle (with the "supposed problem") does become "Active" after some time.

Example: