It's all about the answers!

Ask a question

How to specify maven dependencies in Build Definition?

Eric Benzacar (41912) | asked May 01 '12, 4:27 p.m.
Hi,

I'm somewhat new to RTC and automated builds, but have managed to create my first maven build definition that runs successfully. However, one thing that I cannot seem to figure out how to configure are maven dependencies.

If I have several components that rely on a base component, I would like to automatically trigger builds on all related components if the base component changes/gets rebuilt.

The other CI engines I have used in the past all have this support (ex: Hudson, JetBrains' TeamCity, Atlassian's Bamboo, etc). I can only assume that RTC must have it as well, but I cannot seem to find the configuration for that anywhere.

Can someone point me in the right direction please?

Thanks,

Eric

4 answers

permanent link
Geoffrey Clemm (30.1k33035) | answered May 03 '12, 12:04 a.m.
FORUM ADMINISTRATOR / FORUM MODERATOR / JAZZ DEVELOPER
You would use RTC to kick off, and then capture the results of the Maven build, but you would specify Maven build dependencies in your Maven. For Maven dependencies, see:
http://maven.apache.org/guides/introduction/introduction-to-dependency-mechanism.html

Cheers,
Geoff

Hi,

I'm somewhat new to RTC and automated builds, but have managed to create my first maven build definition that runs successfully. However, one thing that I cannot seem to figure out how to configure are maven dependencies.

If I have several components that rely on a base component, I would like to automatically trigger builds on all related components if the base component changes/gets rebuilt.

The other CI engines I have used in the past all have this support (ex: Hudson, JetBrains' TeamCity, Atlassian's Bamboo, etc). I can only assume that RTC must have it as well, but I cannot seem to find the configuration for that anywhere.

Can someone point me in the right direction please?

Thanks,

Eric